cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Latency and Bufferbloat

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,033
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

I was going to say

In which your next step is to raise a speed fault here https://faults.plus.net

But before doing that - if you dial 17070 option 2 Quiet Line Test  is it quiet (no crackles, etc.)

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎30-05-2016

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

Unfortunately, I don't have a landline to test with. I'll try and get hold of one, but is there another way to do that test? 

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,033
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

Nope

Just raise the fault and hopefully the testing will flag up the problem

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎30-05-2016

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

Ok, thanks for your help!

Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

I can see that when we've tested the line it's giving the following messages:

NF03 - The Copper Line test has failed. MFL :- (CA) BTW cannot progress this fault as the root cause is the PSTN failure. Please report to your Copper Line Service Provider.

CIDT FAULT . High Resistance Imbalance and Rectified Loop Detected

 

That has been reported to Openreach and we should have an update in the next couple of days.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 551
Thanks: 57
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

MFL :- (CA)

BT terminology can be cryptic, but does that mean "Main Fault Location - Customer Apparatus"?   If so, would it be worth running the test with everything disconnected at the house?

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,071
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 391
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Latency and Bufferbloat

@aesmith Yup CA is Customer Apparatus so we would recommend that if it hasn't been done already.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team