cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

FIXED
cindycchan
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

I have to say that I am surprised that Brian was sent a hub one router to resolve exactly the same issues that I reported earlier on this forum and was told that the router I had was working as per the vendor spec. And no more help was offered. I have since sourced my own Hub one and I no longer have problems connecting my devices to the router.
Disappointed with the customer service so will be switching to another provider when my year is up.
Bripnet777
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎15-02-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi,

     I think you may have the timeline wrong, as I reported the problem in early  Febuary. 

     However, I see your point, but at the time the device limit was not widely known  ( I think! ) and a dodgy router seemed a plausible reason.  The  Plusnet folks checked with their suppliers which took ages but  my searching through A LOT of gadget pdf files.  I realised that the troubleshooting comments of "some routers have a limit of 12-15 device" was mentioned occassionally and then the penny dropped.

 Moving suppliers is every ones option, but would have too make sure you get a 2 dual band router or else will have same problem.  A quicker method would be a dual band router from Ebay etc..   a quick search and a few for a tenner or less.  Which I take was the method you decided on.  But it is our choice if want to  wait till out of contract and move supplier or shell out for another router and play with your extra gadgets now which likely cost a whole deal more than a tenner.

Hope you did get all your stuff working properly after that hassle..

Out of interest did you get a BT5 or BT6 hub that some folks had recommened?

regards

Brian

Brian

cindycchan
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi Brian
Thank you for reply and for correcting my misunderstanding. I actually ended up getting a Plusnet Hub One. The router that was giving me the problem was the Plusnet Hub Zero. Ideally Plusnet would supply the Hub One as standard or at least note on their website that the Hub zero is limited. It’s just been frustrating to deal with but your comments are fair. Thankfully all my devices are working now!

Cindy
Bripnet777
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎15-02-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi Cindy,

             I certainly was not being sarky or to pull you up on here.  I would also leave Plusnet in a heartbeat if price and service better elsewhere when my contract time due.  Sorry guys  ;-)     Just too tight fisted...   no comments required,, thank you..

 

 At first I thought the problem was some dodgy Alexa connect stuff from overseas and thankfully did not bin the gear.  But by sheer chance and luck the wife left the house ( bad luck ,, she came back later! ) as I was trying to connect my laptop.  As her wifi signal dropped, the laptop became available... It gave me the hunch to test again with other devices and discovered the routers connection limit..

The dual band routers have been around for a while and at least will double the number of connected devices.  But will be fun and games for anyone getting a single band router ( from any supplier ) and wanting to connect 20 odd devices without realising the upcoming struggle.

 No idea how many 270n single band routers that Plusnet have left in warehouse, hopefully none and then problem goes away.... until someone writes in to ask why on their dual band router, they cannot connect 30 devices.!

Thanks for your router info, I just wondered if you had followed the BT5 or BT6 path as some topics have suggested.  But at the moment, everything works fine and no point in my messing it up.

regards

Brian

 

Mr_Ade
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-05-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Hi All,

Is Plusnet customer support able to change my 2704 router to one which will be able to deal with more devices than the existing one ? 

Thanks to all the forum readers who have contributed to the 'fault finding', this is going to be an issue for more plusnet customers as more and more gadgets are added to our networks.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 997
Thanks: 159
Fixes: 40
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Thanks for your post @Mr_Ade.

 

I've just had one dispatched for you and it should arrive within the next 5 working days.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Owen P
 Plusnet Help Team
Mr_Ade
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-05-2019

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Many Thanks to Plusnet- New router received , setup and working very well Smiley  (ok it took a whole day to do it!)

Happy to report that all my devices can all connect simultaneously.

Added bonus that WIFI range seems slightly better

Well done plusnet

Tags (1)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 947
Thanks: 98
Fixes: 40
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Is there a 12 device limit to connected devices.

Glad to hear it @Mr_Ade.

 

Please give us a nudge should you need owt else.

 

Thanks,

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team