cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP Problems?

WindChill
Hooked

IP Problems?

So I'm afraid I'm not very tech savvy so you might have to bear with me. And I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place!

I've just moved to Plusnet from another provider. Set everything up last night and it's been going well so far. That is until a few members of my family have tried to access some forums. It seems that we've been IP banned from a few (through no fault of our own, as we could get on them yesterday and everything was fine).

I've tried resetting the router. I left it off overnight and tried to access a sports forum this morning when I turned it back on. I could load the page just fine on my phone, but when I went to load the same page on my laptop, both devices immediately went back to showing the ban notification.

How is this happening? Surely logging on using my laptop shouldn't have influenced the IP on my phone? I doubt the new IP was banned again within the minute or so it took me to put my phone down and boot up my laptop. Now I can't get on the site using either device. I'm at a loss.  

15 REPLIES 15
SpendLessTime
Hero
Fixes: 86

Re: IP Problems?

Hi @WindChill

Welcome to the forums.

You may have an Plusnet IP address which is not been seen as UK based. Go to https://www.iplocation.net/ and see if all the locations are shown as UK. If not then there is a thread to report IP's not returning UK locations here https://community.plus.net/t5/Plusnet-Feedback/IP-addresses-not-UK-Can-customers-please-report-any-p...

Ex - Plusnet Customer (2009 - 2023) now with BT
WindChill
Hooked

Thank you for the welcome!

Just had a quick look. All of the IPs are UK based - even if they're not correct as to where I'm located. I did have a different IP address last night though because I had a new sign in alert on one of my devices. I think it was 55 something?