Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I suddenly only get internet when plugged direct into test socket

FIXED
dazpiece
Dabbler

I suddenly only get internet when plugged direct into test socket

EDIT: picture of my current situation https://ibb.co/pQqky9c

Hi, for some reason today my broadband connection went down (router constantly flashing orange with orange broadband light). I took the faceplate off and used an ADSL microfilter to plug directly into the test socket, and the broadband now works. I have a “Master Socket 5C” with OpenReach printed on it.

Can anyone advise why this may be and what’s the best action to take? Will my connection stay stable while in the test socket? I can’t afford to be without internet as me and my partner both rely on it for working from home at the moment.

Thanks for any help, especially if someone from Plusnet could open a case please?
23 REPLIES 23
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: I suddenly only get internet when plugged direct into test socket

Fix

Hi @dazpiece A wild guess here, and I may get corrected, but if you get a connection when the (presumably) Mk.4 faceplate is removed from the equation, then that is possibly the culprit - they have been known to fail. I think you can buy these yourself, but before you do that, try cleaning (gently) any contacts in the faceplate and the socket itself.

John
dazpiece
Dabbler

Hi John,

I’ve just checked and the faceplate does say Mk.4 on the front so your assumption is right! The other half was cleaning the skirting board near the faceplate at the time with a damp cloth, so I’m a little paranoid it could have gotten wet so I’ve currently got the faceplate immersed in a bowl of rice!

If I get no joy there I might look at buying a replacement as you say
jab1
Legend

Keep us informed of progress please.

John
RichardB
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 39

Hi @dazpiece 

Do you normally plug the router into the master socket or an extension socket?