cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One firmware update request

Highlighted
rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Updater received, many thanks.

I am out most of the day but will do soft reset (top hubone button) and see if it helps. 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,265
Thanks: 4,443
Fixes: 723
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Thanks for getting back to us @rpaco 

I'm sorry to see the issues you've had getting your firmware updated however I'm glad to see that it has done now following re-adding your router into the hardware component on your account and carrying out a factory reset.

If you need any further help, please do feel free to let us know.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Well the line does not seem to be dropping now, bu the performance has  fallen to almost dial up speed.

Virtually constant attacks from various parts of the world but many OUT Blocks as well.

Attached is today's BTW report.

Is there a a way to download the modem log as a file (On HubOne) or is it just highlight copy/paste?

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,579
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Hi @rpaco 

 

You are syncing rather slowly at roughly 3Mbps. 

 

I'm not finding any fault though. 

 

Have you asked your phone provider to run any tests on the WLR side of things? 

 

Thanks, 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

I am currently waiting for the Plusnet help team's reply to my questions re their proposal to send another engineer.

There is no point in sending one to repeat the previous tests, I have asked if it is to attach long term monitoring equipment or to check the exchange racks or to switch hard line between the exchange  and cabinet. No answer!

The last one found no fault with the line and the BT speedtest shows no fault.  I also attach the BT Broadband check.for my line. I have done "Quiet test" and it was quiet!

Also the line dropped again at 13:49:32.hrs today. So the moden software update did not have the intended effect. (that was apparent from other threads here)

I note the "Handback" download speed for my line is 8.5 to 19.5 Mbps so mine is well below that threshold. Rapidly approaching dial-up speed. Just over a year ago I had 12.5Mbps download speed for a while and a steady 9.5Mbps.

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,459
Thanks: 283
Fixes: 83
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Hi @rpaco,

 

I'm very sorry that you are still experiencing problems with the speed and performance of your connection.

 

As our tests aren't picking up the cause of the problem from here, the only way that we are able to progress this is to arrange for another engineer to visit your property. We are unable to determine exactly what work would be carried out during this visit, as it depends on our supplier's findings. However, if there were multiple engineer visits with no resolution then we would be able to raise an escalation with our suppliers for this to be dealt with by a more senior engineer.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Please read before jumping to dates below.

Well ,as I understand it from reading many of the thread here my situation is very common and numerous engineer home visits over months of the problem  does not solve it. Only when the cabinet and exchange connections have been made or shifted does there seem to be a resolution.  When there is a dropout the line speed is automatically reduced so recurring dropouts shift the line speed ever lower. Only a DSL line re-set can then turn off banding and restore the proper speed.

Interleaving has not helped just slowed it down.

While the firmware update has reduced the number of dropouts they re still occurring. I need you to look properly at the logs and decide the cause of the entries which trigger a reset  ie as per (81958.860000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request] Is this from your end or BT's or my end?

I am also concerned at the logged triggering of router " Button Press" WPS by my android mobile.This is while WPS is disabled!! I always turn it off  as I know it is a weak hacking spot. (Only turned on once yesterday to reconnect my network printer then off again followed by laptop firewall adjustment )

Thus please can you have someone tech qualified comment upon the immediate pre-dropout  and Button press events.

I can also supply my laptop Syslog if needed for correlation.

If you must send an engineer, which I doubt will show anything other than a clean line, my available dates are 06/09/19 am and pm and 09/09/19 am only 10/09/19 am and pm. I am not available 11/09/19 as I have a hernia operation that day.

This process is rather like you running out of fuel in your car and then repeatedly checking the oil level.

rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

"LCP Send Termination Request [User request] "

It appears that this is an ongoing problem and has been for several years, affecting BT served services. Though many other vendors as well as Plusnet.

If you search for the above phrase on the internet you will uncover an epidemic. It seem to apply mostly to the Sagem modem/ routers ie the BT Hub 5/Plusnet Hub One.

It appears in all sorts of forums and specialised discussion groups.

From several sources it seems that the modem is looking inside packets where it should not be.

Of course it could be Huawei getting its own back!

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 928
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Hi @rpaco,

Thanks for getting back to us. I can see that you posted the same response to the ticket on your account so I've raised a further response there. For reference, this can be read and responded to here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,940
Thanks: 1,467
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request


@rpaco wrote:

I need you to look properly at the logs and decide the cause of the entries which trigger a reset  ie as per (81958.860000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request] Is this from your end or BT's or my end?

Cause and effect.

I would fully expect to see an LCP termination event in response to a loss of sync. From reading some of your other posts, it sounds like your DSL connection is dropping. If true, this is at a completely different layer to the LCP event and is almost certainly the trigger for what you're seeing. There is one DSL issue I'm aware of with the latest firmware and it results in intermittent sync only during the hours of darkness. Do you only lose connection after sunset?

The button press observation I can't really comment on without a bit of digging, but my gut feel is that it's unrelated to your connectivity woes.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Hi Bob

No not after dark especially, is the BT network exclusively  Solar Powered?

I attach the WAN log since the firmware update. I have highlighted the relevant events. Saved in .rtf

So is this a modem fault or the BT line control software fault?

I have added two IP table control lines to my laptop

The Line "PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]" is widespread in the forums with many long standing intermittent disconnection faults it is not just on Plusnet, have a look yourself.

There seem to be very frequwent  CHAP challenges and quite a few NAKs 

I wish I had learned more about networking, but my era was DOS before this existed (maybe  bit of CPM and 6502 Assembler on the Oric Atmos and Psion Assembler) 

We shall see if the engineer can find anything at all this afternoon which I am willing to offer odds against (I ran the BT  tests attached plus a quiet test.

rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Engineer said that line had been capped at 3Mbps. Varying noise level. Now reset SNR to 6dB. Showing 10.88Mbps downstream DSL (Now dragged down to 7.897MBPS in a few mins) Will try factory reset in a min.

But speed test shows only 2.5Mbps. (Wifi connected however a Wifi connection to my mobile hotspot gave 9.5 Mbps.

I will try other old modem if I can find suitable mains power supply (Tip negative !!!)

Reverting to mobile hotspot to send this.

 

 

 

rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

No after a factory reset the DSL speed shown is down to 1.337Mbps

So will try to get another modem working. So much for latest firmware!!!

rpaco
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Registered: ‎23-11-2007

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Well the DSL speed is showing 10.88Mbps but speedtest gives under 3.0Mbps

Wifi via mobile phone hotspot shows oner 8.2Mbps so wifi is ok on Laptop interface. Just slow from plusnet router and every other one I have tried.

Are all my modems duff? Or is there something that limits the sync speed?

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,188
Thanks: 745
Fixes: 283
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Hub One firmware update request

Thanks for getting back to us @rpaco

I've tested your line today and I can see that there was a stuck profile on your line which was restricting your download speeds. This has now been removed and you should now be getting speeds of around 10mbps.

If you do not see any immediate improvement please reboot your router in the first instance.

Let us know how you get on

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team