cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How accurate are the published shaping stats?

spheric

How accurate are the published shaping stats?

Good Evening Everyone
Im new to plusnet, having previously been spoilt by Zen/Be, who are unavailable on my exchange now I've moved.
Before signing up I took a close look at the traffic shaping data, to make sure I was happy with the sorts of speed I'd see. I've no desire to swamp the network with big downloads at peak times, but tonight I found myself needing to grab 30 megs or so worth of PARs from my preferred usenet provider (easynews for the record). I fired up my download manager to find....
3 kb/s between four files. - averaged over a 45 minute or so period.
Obviously, I was a little shocked, and had a poke around. Normal web pages seem fine, so I take another look at the traffic shaping information, to see if I've somehow read things wrong. The table says 1MB/s can be expected on extra, which would be absolutely fine for the size of file I'm looking to pull... Five or Ten minutes in order to avoid swamping everyone's sunday evening browsing seems reasonable enough, but good grief! At the sort of speed Im getting things would be faster on dial-up!
In order to check whether plusnet was overloaded in general, I VPNed in to my employer's network and tried the same download over VPN. That ran at 200kb/s, which tallies well with the 2MB/s quoted for VPN traffic on extra on the shaping info table.
I suppose that amongst the ranting, I'd like to know if there's something unusual this evening that means that (web) traffic to usenet providers (or just easynews) is slowing to a crawl, or whether the traffic shaping info bears no resemblence to the policies defined on plusnet's routers. If the latter, I'm sure you can understand my disappointment after making the effort to double check I'd be happy enough with the advertised shaping.
7 REPLIES 7
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63