cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

FooAtari
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

For some reason totally unknown to me I cant connect to CoD 4 server I know is online.  Here is some screenshots.  It might be helpful if anyone who has cod 4 can see if they can connect to it Cheesy
193.200.158.48:28961
Anyway shot one.  Server on server list.  No ping or server name.  Sometimes it does show how many players are in the game and the name of the map, but never a ping.  When I try and connect it times out after 10 seconds

So I tried pinging the server, which worked.  At least I know it exists

Next I tried doing a trace route.  No problems there either;

I've checked, double checked and triple checked my firewall settings, the port is open.
This makes no sense to me, why can't I connect to it.  I asked the server admin who said there is no reason from his end why I can't connect.
Hope someone can help Smiley
Ta
20 REPLIES 20
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

If you have a software firewall try disabling it temporarily to see if it makes any difference. If you have the PN firewall enabled turn that off (and reboot router afterwards).
I assume you have rebooted your router & PC?
FooAtari
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

No software firewall.  And no PN firewall that I am aware of... Ill make sure though.
I haven't actually tried rebooting router which was dopey of me. Will try that in the morning
FooAtari
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Reboot did nothing...
Slick
Grafter
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

im a cod4 player, what msg do you get when you are disconnected?
there are 3 i know of,
connection timeout
server disconnected
low ping players only
let me know if it is any of the above as there is fixes for these
or if it isn't post what msg you get and il look into it.
Ive also tried that server using ase and it has a dynamic ip address so it wont show up. have you got the correct port number/ip ?
FooAtari
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

I think im getting connection timeout but I'm not on my windows box at the moment.  I'll check again tomorrow.
Yeah it's definitely the right IP and port although apparently there were some issues over the last few days where people couldn't connect, but mine I have been able to connect at all over a 2 week period.  Ill try connecting again tomorrow.
Cheers
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,384
Thanks: 720
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Does this resemble your experience at all?
big long link
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

LOL - I wondered that.
But he's on ptn-ag2 (see the trace he's given)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,384
Thanks: 720
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

No, I'm not thinking about an LLU line, more just wondering if there is something p2p that we aren't catching properly so at peak it's getting de-prioritised?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
FooAtari
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Well it's fixed now...
Did anyone do anything?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,384
Thanks: 720
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Don't think so.  Can you try at about 8pm?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
FooAtari
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Sure
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,384
Thanks: 720
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

We got a copy of the game tested internally this afternoon and it DOES appear that we aren't profiling some of the traffic properly.
I've raised a problem to get this sorted.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-06-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Who drew the "short straw" having to test this, eh? Wink
From my perspective, COD4 on the PC seems to be profiled just fine. Smiley
B.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,384
Thanks: 720
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help me troubleshoot an issue connecting to a cod 4 server

Are you using Punkbuster with it?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager