cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTP connections are constantly getting dropped & blocked

goto11

FTP connections are constantly getting dropped & blocked

I'm a web designer who occasionally works from a home office on a Plusnet Broadband account, using the Plusnet One router.

I'm using various FTP clients to connect to remote servers to update website files. I have dozens of site connections set up in these FTP clients, across various servers. The issue I am having is that one minute I can connect to a remote location with no issues. 5 Minutes later the connection is dropped & I can then no longer connect to the remote location. This blocking does not affect various account on the same server, as I can seem to connect to one site & at the exact same moment not connect to another site on the same shared hosting account.

The basic error messages I am getting are saying that the FTP client cannot retrieve the contents of /public_html/ which is the root remote location set up for each connection.

This must be connected to my new Plusnet broadband service, as I have just recently moved and this never happened at my home office at our old location, which was still with Plusnet. I also don't get this issue at all when working from various offices.

I'm connected via plain FTP, port 21 with passive FTP, which it what I have use for years and years with no issues. As I say, it DOES work, it's just that it is constantly getting dropped & will then not connect 5 minutes later.

If I check any of these connections for a site in cPanel, where I can check FTP connections, it does show the connection in there, even if the FTP client says it cannot connect.

I hope someone can help!

Cheerio

Mat

Tags (2)
4 REPLIES 4
goto11

Re: FTP connections are constantly getting dropped & blocked