cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extending wifi using bridge router with Technicolor TG582N

caroline233

Extending wifi using bridge router with Technicolor TG582N

Hi. I am new to this and completely non technical so please be patient! I have the plusnet technicolor router and during a recent rewire had ethernet run through the house & to the garage. I'd like to connect an old airport extreme to give wifi in the garage. I've tried connecting it directly to the technicolor and that works ok but if I try to plug the airport into the garage ethernet socket (obviously also ethernet cabled from the router to the equivalent socket at the other end!) it can't connect to the internet. From what I've read, that is because the technicolor doesn't allow connection to the internet without changes to the settings but I have no idea how to overcome this. Can anyone tell me, without jargon or any technical knowledge required, how I can achieve it?
2 REPLIES 2
Enthusiast

Re: Extending wifi using bridge router with Technicolor TG582N

Quote from: caroline233
I've tried connecting it directly to the technicolor and that works ok

That's a good sign, but the rest of the statement seems a bit contradicting. If AirPort works okay while connected to Technicolor directly, it has to work in garage too.
A couple of checks:

• How do you know AirPort is working  8)? Is it configured to use the same Wireless Network Name as Technicolor (PLUSNET-xxxxxx)?

• Do you plug Technicolor into Ethernet WAN port on AirPort in both cases, locally and in garage?

• Are Ethernet WAN port lights blinking in a similar way in both cases?