cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ethernet Cables

FIXED
TimBavard
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2020

Ethernet Cables

Hi, I have a Plusnet router and work from a MacBook Pro. My questions are:

(1) I no longer have the cables that came with my Plusnet router (which is less than a year old). So is there a specific type of ethernet cable I need to order, as when I searched on Amazon, the cables were HDMI, but my router doesn't have an HDMI slot?

(2) once I have the right cable, is it simply a case of plugging the cable in to my Mac and router?

Many thanks,

Tim

Tags (2)
7 REPLIES 7
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,769
Thanks: 5,785
Fixes: 1,399
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Ethernet Cables

what year is your MacBook Pro? More recent models don't have ethernet ports and you'll need an adapter.

as for cables just searching ethernet cable should be enough https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=ethernet+cable&crid=26ZMC5ZWVOVYO&sprefix=ethernet+%2Caps%2C322&ref=nb_...

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 10,162
Thanks: 3,338
Fixes: 120
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Ethernet Cables

Welcome to the forums @TimBavard Try searching for 'ethernet cable' on Amazon - I have just done so, and it brought up ethernet, not HDMI cables.

Once you have the cable, yes, just plug in and go.

One question - why can you not use wireless, as I assume you currently are?

EDIT: @dvorak makes a good point re: Macs and ethernet connections - I had forgotten, as I don't use one.

John
TimBavard
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2020

Re: Ethernet Cables

Cheers Dvorak, my Mac is around 3 years old, but I have a multi-port adaptor already, which has both an HDMI slot, 3 USB ports, and what looks like a phone-socket slot - which I guess would be for an ethernet cable?

 

Tim

TimBavard
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2020

Re: Ethernet Cables

Hi John, many thanks for your reply, I'll do as you suggest.

 

My understanding is that an ethernet conn section will give me a more stable connection than using the wifi - would that be right?

 

Tim

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,769
Thanks: 5,785
Fixes: 1,399
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Ethernet Cables

Fix
yeah the square socket that looks a bit phone is will be the ethernet port.

It should certainly provide a more stable connection than wifi.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 10,162
Thanks: 3,338
Fixes: 120
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Ethernet Cables

Tim - how good is your current connection?

It is true that a cable connection is preferable to a wireless one, though.

John
TimBavard
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2020

Re: Ethernet Cables

It's not bad. Intermittent in the morning and on some evenings, but that would be down to traffic I suspect. However I need something more stable to broadcast my show which I've moved online, so trying an ethernet cable seems a good thing to do.

 

Cheers for all the help.

 

Tim Bavard

Bavard Bar