cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Download Speed

topham1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎14-03-2009

Re: Download Speed

Evening,
Some good newsw my profile as now changed 3000, and my download speed as incresed to
Date               Download Speed        Upload Speed 
Today 20:01 2794 kbps (349kB/s) 325 kbps (40.6kB/s)
Today 17:54 2804 kbps (351kB/s) 363 kbps (45.4kB/s)
Today 17:45 2299 kbps (287kB/s) 309 kbps (38.6kB/s)  however this does drop when wireless to around 700 kbps.
However my errors have incresed quite abit are these anything to be worried about?
Uptime: 1 day, 9:57:40 
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A 
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3,712 
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00 
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 18.0 
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 49.0 
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.0 / 13.0 
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC 
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 3 / 0 
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0 
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Link (Remote): 0 
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 6 / 0 
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 656,696 
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 386 
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 352
I will paste some line stats in abit.
Cece



22:08
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 660,363 
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 403 
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 368

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
topham1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎14-03-2009

Re: Download Speed

Morning,
I haven't turned my router off for a couple of days now however when checking my router stats this morning is shows:
Uptime: 0 days, 2:01:32 
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A 
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2,656 
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00 
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 17.5 
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 50.0 
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.0 / 18.0 
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC 
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 3 / 0 
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0 
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Link (Remote): 0 
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 18 / 0 
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2,377 
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 29 
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 12
Cece
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Download Speed

Hi Cece,
you've obviously got an intermittent issue somewhere, but those latest stats suggest the router rebooted/resynced 2hrs:01min:32secs before you did a copy of them. Do you know if that Uptime is since the last sync or since the last powerup/reset? Perhaps if you resync around middayish, you may recover your sync speed, immediately look at the stats and we'll have the answer to that last query.
Worth asking - do you suffer from power dips/cuts/interuptions where you are? Also whilst looking at your line stats (sync & noise), check that you haven't got any dodgy power lead connctions, plugs, extension leads etc.
I've just posted some suggested settings for RouterStats in another thread   http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,74864.msg598797.html#msg598797 , you may care to look. As I expect you realise, you need to leave the computer running for continuous monitoring using the program. By the way, is your Wireless still switched on?
I know it may be inconvenient, but we need to leave it off for a while. The slower throughput on wireless is a separate issue we'll need to look at after we got to the bottom of the re-sync issue.
The errors you mentioned look high, but if you've downloaded a lot or browsed a lot of high grahics pages or watched streaming video, this may be proportioinately low.
Have you heard any noise on your phone line lately? Worth checking periodically.
Even if you recover your sync speed, it's going to take a couple of days for your profile to recover, so throughput will be slower unfortunately, otherwise the throughput figures you mentioned (wired) were good when your profile had recovered.
topham1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎14-03-2009

Re: Download Speed

Evening,
I have left my router alone for a few days after the unexpected sync, it wasn't a reboot and there was no power cut, we don't tend to get many of those where i live. can the router resync by itself?  anyway I managed to sync at 3,392 and have had no problems since.
Uptime: 4 days, 4:20:10
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A 
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3,392 
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 1.00 
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 18.0 
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 50.0 
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.0 / 16.5 
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0 
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Link (Remote): 0 
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 14 / 0 
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 152,270 
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 975 
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 902
However my Current line speed now shoes: 2500
I have tested the quite line a few times during my router test but again no noise. My wireless is still switch off and i am still plugged into the test socket.
Here are my speed test although when downloading it was much lower this might be becuase it was p2p.
Date          Download Speed                   Upload Speed 
Yesterday 20:43 2323 kbps (290kB/s) 362 kbps (45.3kB/s)
Yesterday 18:16 2282 kbps (285kB/s) 345 kbps (43.1kB/s)
Yesterday 17:10 2404 kbps (301kB/s) 344 kbps (43kB/s)
Yesterday 13:31 2338 kbps (292kB/s) 348 kbps (43.5kB/s)
See attached line test.
Last i tried to look at suggested settings for RouterStats in another thread  http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,74864.msg598797.html#msg598797 but keep getting error message
The topic or board you are looking for appears to be either missing or off limits to you?
Cheers
Cece



Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Download Speed

It was merged with another topic - this is what you were looking for I think
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,74681.msg598797.html#msg598797
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Download Speed

Hi Cece,
Well at least things have remained stable at the moment, did you ever try a filter swap?
Sorry about the link, as OJ said the topic got merged, and so the link stopped working.
Unfortunately you need to sync at 3424 or above for the 3000 profile, you were unlucky to sync just below that. Once you've adjusted the sample rate and points per page on RouterStats you'll see a more detailed plot of the SNRM. If it's remaining nice and steady at 16.5dB or better in the daytime it would be worth a resync when the sync speed should pick up.
topham1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎14-03-2009

Re: Download Speed

Morning,
Well after a few goes i finally managed to re sync at 3776, using a new filter see latest router stats.
Cheers
Cece
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Download Speed

Hi Cece,
you were lucky to get that resync before the noise levels started to get worse for the evening. Don't forget to alter the RouterStats plot settings as suggested, the link Jim posted in reply #49 does work, and remember to check it's set to Ramp mode as well.
Next time you post, can you post some Router line stats as well.
topham1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎14-03-2009

Re: Download Speed

Arhhhh,
I have been synced at 3776 for nearly 3 days now I have come home from work today and checked my stats was showing 3296 even though the router hasn't been rebooted or resynced, also there as been no power cut, I have tryed to resync just now but is the same will have to try again tomorrow around lunch, it there a reason why it keeps re syncing on it own?
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:44 
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A 
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3,296 
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00 
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 18.0 
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 50.0 
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.0 / 15.0 
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC 
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
Loss of Link (Remote): 0 
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0 
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0 
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0 
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Many Thanks
Cece
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Download Speed

It resyncs on its own due to some intermittent cause, that's why it's important to get the monitoring as "finely tuned" as possible, and then we may see a cause or may have to start using a process of elimination.
topham1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎14-03-2009

Re: Download Speed

Afternoon,
I have altered my router stats as shown in the link in reply 49 see attached results, I did set up a graph for atten down however I forgot to tick the capture button, but this dipped at the same time as the noise and sync.
Cheers
Cece
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Download Speed

Hi Cece,
this is what's been described as a router "polling" issue. The RouterStats program is unable to get the data when it "polls" as something in the system is busy at that instant. There are two easy ways to confirm this, first the sync speed is unchanged, it is very rare to resync at exactly the same speed and would never happen several times in succession, and the second way is to look at your "Uptime" or "Line Uptime" or  "Line Up count" depending on what information your Router Line stats provide - in your case "Uptime". This should not be confused with "Online Time" which some routers provide, the latter being the length of time your PPP session has been maintained with the ISP (nothing to do with sync to the exchange).
I don't know if anyone else has come across the exact reasons for this occurring or methods of eliminating it.
Highlighted
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2007

Re: Download Speed

Change the polling interval in routerstats,
Click the configure icon (Left hand side of the program), then select the "graphs" Tab (along the top), the select the "Common Settings" tab (LHS). On this window there is a text box with a spin button, this is labeled "Sample every" ?? "seconds"
For my selection of routers I can use a number between 6 and 20 depending on the make and model of the router (6 seconds for a netgear 834GT and 20 seconds for my 2wire )
I suggest selecting >20
Ian
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Download Speed

Selecting >20 will give too course a monitoring of the noise at the moment. Cece's just changed the polling interval to 8 secs (I hope) from a much longer time and it's made no difference.
Edit: Check the plotting is set to Ramp mode as well.
Interesting to note that (most of the time) the dips are at very regular intervals .. hmm.
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2007

Re: Download Speed

Thomson TG585 v7....., I bet it syncs with a time server every half hour (check logs) and see if these times correspond with the timeouts.
Ian
edit typos