cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Did you take note of the full stats on that last test?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ihardcastle
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎20-12-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

The full details are here Smiley

Data rate  5883 448
Noise margin 6.7 18.1
Output power 20.8 12.5
Attenuation 36.0 20.6
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

I'm not convinced that your modem is supporting ADSL2+. From your attenuation you should expect around 10-11K
It looks like there is later beta firmware for your router - I'd be tempted to give that a try.
Other than that it's a different router. You may be entitled to a router from Plusnet for just the cost of the postage and packing if you are prepared to commit to staying for a year.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ihardcastle
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎20-12-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

I've tried the beta firmware but it does patch up. I managed to get hold of F5D7633-4Av1_UK_1.00.010 firmware which works but with the same speeds. When I try to patch up from 010 to beta 25 firmware it says it's a bad image so I guess it won't let me upgrade Sad
I'll just get another router at the weekend, I could do with better WiFi anyway hehe. Any excuse to buy something shiney and new.
Thanks for your help anyway. It's been useful.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Hi ihardcastle,
Jelv is indeed correct, you would be eligible for a new router - drop me a PM if you want to discuss it and I'll arrange it for you. It'd be a Thompson 585v7 if you went for the 4 port wireless.
VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,847
Thanks: 456
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

The Thomson is a horrible router to configure - and certain functions are "not available".
PN sent me one - and replaced it with a D-Link - which is much better - and it works.
I haven't found a router as good as the Netgear from the usability point of view.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

ihardcastle
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎20-12-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Ok, now i'm not happy.
Having done everything possible to try and get ADSL2+ working properly I am still getting a, shall we say politely...poor speed. (Can't say the 'c' word for some reason)
I have just bought a brand new router which specifically says on it ADSL2 and ADSL2+ support.
It's a Belkin F5D8635uk4A router. See here for details: http://www.belkin.com/uk/support/product/?lid=enu&pid=F5D8635uk4A&scid=314
Having got it all setup and connected to the internet I am still getting the same speeds. Something is seriously wrong here.
Here is the latest connection details:

Type: G992_5_A
Modem Status: Showtime
                 Downstream  Upstream
Data Rate(Kbps)  4679        448
Noise Margin     4.8         19.2
Output power     19.7        12.7
Attenuation      45.7        20.5

Any ideas? Perhaps a speed restriction from PlusNet's end?Huh
Euge
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎11-10-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Whats happened to your attentuation  Shocked
If none of the wiring has been altered it seems strange to see a huge attentuation increase on the same line with a different router, no?!
Have you got the latest update for that router?
ihardcastle
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎20-12-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Hi thanks for the quick reply.
Yes everything is the same, it's literaly a router change.
The annoying thing is I was connected at around 7200-7300 kbps last night yet today this happens, and with a router which will without a doubt give me the speed I should be getting.
It's the inconsistancy on the line which is really bugging me. One day I can be connected at 7000kbps and the next 4200kbps.
I have changed everything imaginable to get this problem sorted and nothing is working so I am out of ideas now.
ihardcastle
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎20-12-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Sorry forgot to say that yes I have the latest firmware Smiley aswell
Euge
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎11-10-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Possible that your previous attentuation was lying to you and now that it registers at 45.7dB it does seem to agree with the speeds you are achieving. However I'm no expert but it sounds like a problem with the line more than anything else. I better leave for someone with more expertise.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Plusnet are capping your upload speed to 448. You need to PM Jameseh. See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,75080.0.html
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Picnic
Grafter
Posts: 186
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎30-10-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Quote from: ihardcastle
Here is the latest connection details:

Type: G992_5_A
Modem Status: Showtime
                 Downstream  Upstream
Data Rate(Kbps)  4679        448
Noise Margin     4.8         19.2
Output power     19.7        12.7
Attenuation      45.7        20.5


I'm intrigued, how did you get this information out of your Belkin? I can't see how to get noise figures out of my N1 Vision.
Thanks in advance
P.
Euge
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎11-10-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

You have to put this in you address bar on your internet explorer. It's you default gateway adress for your router
http://192.168.1.1/
Then from there find your system status under 'advanced'. It's one of those tabs. 'Broadband line'
p.s. it might also be 192.168.1.0
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Disappointing 21CN/maxDSL Comparison

Technically we're not actually capping the upstream speeds, but BT are because we asked them to.
I've got a list of orders to place (to remove upstream capping), which doesn't seem to be happening today because the BT system is not playing Sad
@ ihardcastle
You say that the only change to your setup is your router?  I don't suppose there's any chance of trying a different one to see if that improves things?