cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

rebeccabg
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Hi @bmc. Thanks for the info. I actually meant the cost of ADSL (which we currently get free as an introductory offer) vs the cost of fibre, i.e. an extra £15 a month.

I know, I shouldn't be complaining about the cost of free broadband!

rebeccabg
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Thank you for translating the stats, @Townman

 

So I was looking into the FTTP trial and turns out we already have the ENT (pictured below), I think? If so, are we still eligible for the trial @HarryB?

openreach box.jpg

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,162
Thanks: 1,047
Fixes: 405
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

If you have that I can't see any reason why not but @HarryB will check tomorrow

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
bmc
Champion
Posts: 1,699
Thanks: 428
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

You've probably made several people very jealous by finding an ONT box in your house!!!

 

PlusNet will tell you about whether you can join the trial. At this time your contract will still apply (I'm guessing) but when it comes to an end you'll have a choice. FTTP doesn't need a phone so if you don't need a phone you'll be able to cancel that and just take the Internet service.

 

PlusNet charge a £2.50 surcharge for an internet only service but you'd have no line rental to pay!!!

 

Brian

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,790
Thanks: 774
Fixes: 39
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Yes you are definitely eligible for the trial and that's just what you need for FTTP, (it's actually called an ONT - Optical Network Terminator). If you have a suitable router with an Ethernet WAN connection and the ONT is still connected to the fibre network you could be up and running on FTTP very quickly.Smiley

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 22,097
Thanks: 7,594
Fixes: 1,278
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(


@rebeccabg wrote:
So I was looking into the FTTP trial and turns out we already have the ENT (pictured below), I think? If so, are we still eligible for the trial

Yep, it looks like it.

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

WBC FTTP Availability Date

       
WBC FTTP Upto 330 Upto 30 -- Available

 

Sign up over at http://trials.plus.net and once we place your order with BT, the service should activate (in theory) within 1 working day.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,790
Thanks: 774
Fixes: 39
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

@Gandalf What router is used by PlusNet for FTTP? I assume from the first post that the OP is a recent new customer but on ADSL so not sure what router would have been supplied. Does the Hub 1 have an Ethernet Wan port to connect to the ONT?

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 22,097
Thanks: 7,594
Fixes: 1,278
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Yeah, we'd send out a Hub One.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
rebeccabg
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Thanks, everyone, I've applied for the trial

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 18,278
Thanks: 7,570
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(


@rebeccabg wrote:

Hi @bmc. Thanks for the info. I actually meant the cost of ADSL (which we currently get free as an introductory offer) vs the cost of fibre, i.e. an extra £15 a month.

I know, I shouldn't be complaining about the cost of free broadband!


How does what you've got (stable service not the odd recorded highest speed) compare which what was estimated?  You might blag some deal on doing the upgrade on the basis that BT are not capable of delivering the estimated speed over ADSL.

You might not get far, but it is worth an ask ... however looking at a net cost to you equation - if you do not need the phone line you could try to negotiate ditching the phone line without ETCs being taken (due to ADSL not delivering the goods).  So that's £18 pcm saved on the phone line, £15 pcm for the fibre FTTP service plus £2.50 for not having a phone line ... leaves you 50p pcm better off!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

HarryB
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,184
Thanks: 1,460
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(


@rebeccabg wrote:

Thanks, everyone, I've applied for the trial


While I understand that there has already been a response to your trial application, I'm looking over this now as it's strange that it's advised there's no record of FTTP being installed previously, considering you've found an ONT in the property.

 

EDIT: Surprisingly, there's no ONT on the list when selecting existing ONT at your address Sad

If you could respond to the Ticket with preferred dates for an install, we'll get an order placed for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
rebeccabg
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Yeah it's odd. Not going to be as simple as we thought. I believe the previous owners were with BT so they should know about it.
HarryB
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,184
Thanks: 1,460
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(


@rebeccabg wrote:
Not going to be as simple as we thought.

 While I can't make any guarantees, what I'm hoping will happen is a survey and they'll just switch it on.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
rebeccabg
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2017

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

@Townman, they gave us a minimum guaranteed speed of 0.5Mb when we signed up, which they are achieving.

I asked about dropping the phone line but they wouldn't refund it as we paid the year upfront (to save money!).

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 18,278
Thanks: 7,570
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Current line speed 0.3Mb :(

Try arguing that the phone line was only required for the ADSL service which is not achieving the forecast 0.5Mbps CONSISTENTLY!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.