cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection - speed and stability

GCotterill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Connection - speed and stability

Hello 

Would it be possible to check my broadband connection as the speed seems to have dropped to about a tenth of the normal and there are frequent loss of connections. At this current speed it making it quite difficult to work on my work laptop as the work systems  are not functioning  due to the connection problems. I have checked my connections to the router in the house and all seems to be ok.

Thanks

Geoff

13 REPLIES 13
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

@GCotterill have you had a look at https://community.plus.net/t5/ADSL-Broadband/ADSL-Speed-faults/m-p/1270245#M297501 ?

Your chance of a staff response on here is extremely low, and if you follow that, maybe other Community members may be able to offer suggestions.

John
GCotterill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Connection - speed and stability

Hi

The BT test results attached show no measured speed. The Fast .com speed check is showing 210Kbps.

Thanks

Geoff

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

Which router do you have? Can you post a copy of the statistics?

Have you checked the phone-line for noise?

John
GCotterill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Connection - speed and stability

Hi

The router is a ASUS  DSL-N17U wireless.

The quiet line test isn't showing any crackling background noise and the phone line is working ok

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

The first thing that strikes me in there is your D/S SNR margin - way too high. Also, you appear from the Line attenuation to be a long way from the exchange, and also on ADSL1, none of which helps your speed.

However, I would raise a fault at faults.plus.net if I were you.

What does https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL say for your line ?- obscure you phone number.

John
GCotterill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Connection - speed and stability

Hi 

Exchange info attached. I am about 3 miles from the exchange

 

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

That data makes me cry - for you.

From what I have deduced, you are on a lousy line anyway, on ADSl1 when you should be on ADSL2 (not that it would improve things much) and you have a line problem somewhere.

Have you explored the FTTC option?

And as said previously - report a fault - it won't get picked up from here by the Help Team, although it really should.

 

John
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 604
Thanks: 301
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Connection - speed and stability

From the BT info it appears that FTTC is available and will give at least 30Mbps - so that looks like the obvious solution to me.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

I was going to suggest that as a possible option, but that appears to be on an 80/20 connection?

John
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 604
Thanks: 301
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Connection - speed and stability

It would be on whatever FTTC package was ordered - but obviously with a  40Mbps package capping the max at 40Mbps if it can do more than that (and it is likely to)

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

If the max on that line is 48 on (presumably) an 80/20 package as that tends to imply, capping it at 40/10 will reduce the available speed to roughly half that, or am I totally misreading it?

John
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,482
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Connection - speed and stability

Sorry @jab1  you are totally wrong,  a 40/10 service will obviously be capped at 40/10 if the line can only sync at 35Mbps say you will get 35Mbps, the same line on an 80/20 service will still sync at 35Mbps. Changing from 80/20 to 40/10 does nothing to your speed if you are syncing below 40 Mbps.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,833
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 72
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Connection - speed and stability

OK, @RealAleMadrid - I live and learn, thanks. Smiley

John