cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change Line Profile

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 989
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Change Line Profile

It looks like your target noise margin is 12 which will be lowering your speed. The number of errors being logged is also a bit high for the time you have been connected.
Are you plugging the router in to the master socket or an extension socket? What do you have plugged in to any of the phone sockets other than the router and do you have filters in all sockets that are in use for anything?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

Hi Jelv,
I'm currently plugged into the test socket and don't have anything like that a I know what it does to your connection.
Last year though we did get an engineer our as our speed was like 1Mb and the engineer changed the pairing at the telephone pole but said that there was slight noise on the line.
Also can someone tell me if I'm have interleaving on? As I would rather it off for a reduced ping.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 989
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Change Line Profile

Interleaving is on - with the number of FEC errors you are seeing I'd recommend it stays on. FEC errors are corrected on the fly without retransmitting the packet. With interleaving off they would be hard errors which required retransmission - you'd see more problems as a result.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

Ok, do you think it might be best to get an engineer out to try a different pairing?
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

My router stats again, is there anything I should do to improve the connection?
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 13:42:31
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,012 / 5,113
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1.34 / 18.59
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 18.2 / 36.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.6 / 14.3
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 60 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 7 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 196,812 / 1
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 17,563,760
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 136 / 69,135
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 169 / 322,806
1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
4.55 Mbps

0 Mbps 4 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 4.55 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 1.2 Mbps-4 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 4.51 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.73 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.73Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

Woke up to a lovely surprise  Grin
Uptime: 0 days, 4:48:20
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,012 / 8,584
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 5.27 / 19.16
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 18.2 / 36.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.2 / 5.6
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 105 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 38,441
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 166 / 880
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 275 / 21,542
Although when doing a speed test I get 3.7Mb. Could someone put my current line speed to match my IP profile please?
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

Ok my current line speed is now 7.5Mb but when doing a speed test both wired and wireless I still get 3.7Mb, I have turned my laptop on and off to see if thats help but it doesn't. Any help would be great.
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Change Line Profile

I've just checked your line out and the speed profiles are all set correctly.
Could you run a Speed Test at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com (including 'Further Diagnostics').
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

Hi Chris,
That's the speed running as expected, but I've already been re-synced at a lower speed, only 0.8Mb.
I have attached the further diagnostics from BT, my router stats and my current line speed from the Member Centre.
I'm thinking that there maybe be noise on my line which is the reason I can't get the high speeds I got when my line was fixed last year, but I'm not an expert Smiley
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎04-09-2013

Re: Change Line Profile

Hi Chris,
That's the speed running as expected, but I've already been re-synced at a lower speed, only 0.8Mb.
I have attached the further diagnostics from BT, my router stats and my current line speed from the Member Centre.
I'm thinking that there maybe be noise on my line which is the reason I can't get the high speeds I got when my line was fixed last year, but I'm not an expert Smiley
Can you confirm that a BT Openreach engineer is coming out on the 10th of February to install fibre optic?
Also I'm still waiting for the fibre router to be posted as well.
PS Sorry for the double post.
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Change Line Profile

Really sorry for the delayed response.
I can confirm that an engineer will visit on Monday afternoon to complete the installation of FTTC.