cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't turn interleaving off

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Two possibilities:
1) BT are routing your connection via Manchester or further north to get to the east of London where the Plusnet BT Centrals are located
2) Your connection has interleaving turned on.
I've seen reports of some pretty strange routing in the past - but enough to add 25ms? Somehow I don't think so! Given all the other evidence I'd lay any money on the second option.
James, do any of the diagnostics you can run report the interleaving level or anything which could be used as evidence?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Nope, I can see if interleaving is turned on, off or to auto.
I think you've made a very good point about Ilford/Manchester though.  I think it's worth revisiting once BT have fixed the issues that they're currently experiencing there.
The line appears to have interleaving turned off.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 447
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Sorry to be a pedant here James - I think you mean 'the BT data you are able to look at appears to say that interleaving is turned off".
However the performance (for that read 'facts') seem to say otherwise!
Edit: James you know where I am, and this is with Interleaving on !
Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=121
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=121
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=121
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=121
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

That's not like you Chris Grin
Quote
Nope, I can see if interleaving is turned on, off or to auto.

There was an order placed in March (which completed) to have interleaving set to off.
Line tests also indicate that interleaving is turned off.
albany
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎18-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

There was also an order placed in Feb 08 to have it turned off but nothing changed then either. Wink
Going back to my original post, this line has a history of the data on tests not reflecting the hardware reality so I find it hard to believe the reports for this line.
I'm still amazed that when the line was set up, one part of the ADSL infrastructure capped my line at 576/256 sync while another part did MAX training at those sync rates and reported a dslMAX line even though BT speed-test and the modem reported a non-adaptive rate line.  I think this problem goes back to that original error and presumably a corrupt record.
All the evidence except the reports points firmly to Interleaving being on.  Is there perhaps a way of going back to scratch and re-generating the BT record as if for a brand-new install?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Andy - Check your PMs.
I offered to turn interleaving on and then off again.  Would be interesting to see if you noticed an increase in latency when it "goes back" to on again.
albany
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎18-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Hi James,
Sorry missed that - got distracted by the day job.
Yes, let's try toggling it and see what happens.  Will I see order go through in My Questions so I can see when to look at latency again?
Hope it doesn't get worse!
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

I've done it on the fly, but I can raise a ticket for you if you want me to?
albany
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎18-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

No need.  Will you give me a shout when it looks to have completed or can I assume about 2am tonight?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Should be in the early hours, yes.
albany
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎18-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Guess what?
Modem shows FAST this morning  and bbc.co.uk pings are down to average 12ms  Grin
So that answers the question of whether or not it was previously interleaved.  Now I wonder what does the BT report show?  Could you have a look James?
--- DSL Information ---
DSL Driver Version:  AnnexA version - A2pB022g.d20e
DSL VPI/VCI:        0/38
DSL Status:          ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
DSL Mode:            G.DMT
DSL Channel:        FAST
DSL Upstream Rate:  832 Kbps
DSL Downstream Rate: 8128 Kbps
                      Down        up   
DSL Noise Margin:    10.6 dB      11.0 dB
DSL Attenuation:    21.0 dB      11.5 dB
DSL Transmit Power:  19.8 dBm    12.2 dBm
Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=121
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=121
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=121
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=121
Ping statistics for 212.58.224.138:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 13ms, Average = 12ms
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 447
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

It probably says interleaving is on  Grin  Roll_eyes  Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

That result I wasn't expecting - but it gave me a good giggle.
If your exchange is 21CN enabled would you go for the trial? Given your stats you should get around 20Mbps, but considering the scope that would give BT for messing things up...
But just a moment... Your line is doing the opposite to what is expected, perhaps you should ask for a downgrade to a 256Kbps fixed rate service, you might end up with a faster speed than they get in Japan. Grin Grin Grin
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

BT are showing the line as having interleaving turned off on line tests.
BT are showing the line as having interleaving turned on on the ordfer system.
Go figure.
albany
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎18-08-2007

Re: Can't turn interleaving off

Sadly my exchange doesn't even have a date for 21CN - but perhaps that actually means it's already done  Roll_eyes
Would certainly go for the trial if I could.  I'm not particularly close to the current exchange but it just shows what making good cups of tea for Openreach will do. And it probably helps that I live in the old village Post Office which many moons ago had a proper little old lady exchange in it and with a big GPO trunk access panel out front Wink
I guess its time to leave it alone on the "if it ain't broke..." principle.