Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I have a speed reset please

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Can I have a speed reset please

@steve_arnold I'm no phone engineer, but that looks very messy and wrong to me.

@198kHz  - any comment?

John
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 41

@jab1 wrote:

@198kHz  - any comment?

Messy, yes, but rat's nests can still work if there's no verdigris, corrosion, damp etc.

Blowing the photos up, it looks like it's wired correctly - Orange and White (Pair 1 of the 2-pair dropwire) on top row, to internal cable Blue/White and White/Blue on bottom row, going to the master socket.

Something is wrong somewhere, as the upstream attenuation is way higher than the downstream, and it should be lower, as upstream uses lower frequencies than downstream. The downstream sync rate seems low for the given attenuation.

This is rather concerning, from the OP -

...the BT master socket was put in by a friend of the family as a favour...  🤔

It would be interesting to see a photo of the master socket with the faceplate unplugged, and the stats with the router plugged into the test socket. Unless the OP happens to have a special cable, this would be via a microfilter to adapt the DSL lead's RJ11 to flat telephone plug.

Murphy was an optimist
Zen FTTC 40/10 + Digital Voice   FRITZ!Box 7530
BT technician (Retired)
jab1
Legend

Thanks, @198kHz .

Back to you again, then, @steve_arnold 

John
steve_arnold
Grafter

Apologies I thought I'd put that the friend of the family was a BT engineer at the time, I've got the appropriate cable I'll test and take pictures this evening.

Steve

steve_arnold
Grafter

Ok now router connected direct into test socket these are the stats after 10 minutes - I did the full disconnect in router interface then wait a bit then switch off before swapping.

Status  
xDSL
xDSL
Mode ADSL_2plus
Traffic Type ATM
Status Up
Link Power State L0

Downstream Upstream
Line Coding (Trellis) On On
SNR Margin (dB) 17.4 6.0