Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Big Movies and TIF Space?

caulbox
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Big Movies and TIF Space?

Before I set about foolishly re-partitioning hard drives, I'd be grateful if someone could clarify a couple of question. I'm totally new to all this broadband stuff, and whilst feeling my way around. I've downloaded a few movies from YouTube, using a former GOTD freebie (VideoGet). VideoGet's been working great so far - but one exception has now left me curious.
If I try to download the Herzog/Kinski documentary:

....I get an error message from VideoGet, telling me that the site refused to comply, although the request was understood. At first, I thought it might be a copyright violation - but I am able to view the footage on YouTube without problems. There's also a brief 'viewer discretion' message at the beginning, and I'm wondering if that might account for the download problem?
But I'm also now wondering if another explanation could be related to limitations of my IE8 'Temporary Internet Files' storage capacity? I'm not sure exactly how VideoGet works, but I've noticed that even when I've successfully downloaded movies (to a custom location), an identical (.flv) file of the footage still gets created (and lingers) in my TIF directory, just as if I had watched the film on YouTube. Earlier this morning, I watched the entire documentary, though I would have preferred to have kept a permanent copy. It was quite high quality video, so I'm guessing that the video file will be relatively large too. On this occasion, whilst viewing the film, nothing was added to my TIF directory.