cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Wholesale broadband speed test not working

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,400
Thanks: 4,489
Fixes: 733
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

This is a breath of fresh air, it's good to see that the results are looking OK. :thumbsup:

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
pvmb
Rising Star
Posts: 338
Thanks: 26
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

I still got this on 'Further Diagnostics'

"Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0Mbps" - but now reporting >2Mbps Upload


Test Error "You must wait 10 minutes between tests."

198kHz
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 3,774
Thanks: 678
Fixes: 15
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Windows 7 Home

ADSL2+

 

Download Speed(Mbps): 16.35 Mbps  (normal)

Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.96 Mbps    (unlikely!)

Ping Latency(ms): 51 ms


Further diagnotics

1. Best Effort Test:

Download Speed : 16.35 Mbps

2. Upstream Test:

Upload Speed : 1.02 Mbps


Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information.

To err is human, but to really foul things up requires a forum upgrade.
JayG
Pro
Posts: 1,090
Thanks: 125
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎30-10-2011

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Just ran it again:

Chrome browser: upload 1.81Mbps

IE11 browser: upload 1.80 Mbps

Consistent, but alas wrong...

 

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@Gandalf wrote: Our suppliers believe this to be fixed. 

Hmm, tried at 20:34 and after 2-3mins of this:

btwst 160818 at 2035.PNG

It gave a rather low result, so further diagnostics gave:

an unusually long wait and:

 

btwst 160818 at 2035 results.PNG

 

but that could just be me.....? Upload is up a little, but not where it can be.

lenfish
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎22-04-2015

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test on Microsoft Edge:

download=16.51

upload=5.58

 

Speedtest.net on Microsoft Edge:

download=33.65

upload=4.14

Speedtest.net results are around what I used to get on BT Test and seem correct.

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@Gandalf wrote: The BT speedtester should’ve been updated to HTML5 yesterday, and a quick test on my non-Flash supported iPhone shows that this is indeed the case as the test is running.

No biggy, but should the opportunity arise and you speak to them again, ask them to update their FAQ's Wink

eg - http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/PerformanceTesterWS/FAQ.htm

Q1/A2 - The test will use an Adobe Flash application to send and receive data to and from your device (PC, laptop, tablet, smartphone etc.)

Q4/A4 - 3. Your device must have Adobe Flash Player installed and it is recommended that you use the latest version of the Flash player. 

Q10 - Adobe Flash player is not supported on my device. Can I still run the Performance Tester?

A10 -  At present no. Your device must support and have installed an Adobe Flash player in-order to complete a performance test. It is recommended that your device uses the latest version of the Flash player.

 

I'd hate for someone to think BTw don't know what they're doing, don't update their data and only put 50% effort in!! ......

A further test gave a very optimistic speed of:

if only.PNG

 

Lucy
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Results still not looking good with ADSL. BTW speedtest takes 2 minutes to complete in Edge and Chrome (Windows 10 Build 17713). Results:

BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test
Broadband Speed Test Results Edge / Chrome
Download Speed(Mbps): 4.86 Mbps / 4.91
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.36 Mbps / 1.35
Ping Latency(ms): 51 ms / 53

'Further Diagnostics' no longer gives results from TAP1 as yesterday, but the figures are now the same as for the initial speed test :

Further diagnostics:
1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download speedachieved during the test was - 4.86 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 5.48 Mbps

2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed 1.02 Mbps
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

 

 

------------

Control tests :

speedtest.net  D Mbps 5.31 U Mbps 0.73    L 28 ms
ThinkBroadband D 5 Mbps U 0.6 Mbps L58 ms
mybroadbandspeed.co.uk  D 5.4 U 0.7  L28ms

 

 

 

 

jamesanstee
Rising Star
Posts: 530
Thanks: 15
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

The BT wholesale tester seems to over estimate my upload speed on 80/20 line

JayG
Pro
Posts: 1,090
Thanks: 125
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎30-10-2011

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

BT tester still at variance with other testers on upload speed (not to mention the limits of ADSL2+ technology itself.)

Today's result: upload 1.78.Mbps :rolleyes:

 

If BT Wholesale can't even get a very prominent piece of public-facing technology right, I can't help wondering what their back end systems are like (I pity the likes of Plusnet who have to deal with them on a daily basis!)

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,004
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@Gandalf here is my btw speedtest, not quite there yet because the downstream still 6Mbps short but the upstream are not correct because it went over 20Mbps. Also can you ask the suppliers btw to get rid of these TAP1 when clicking Further Diagnostics because TAP1 appear to run too quicker.

 
FAQ

Results Image not loaded

 

 


1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

  Download Speed
  67.66 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 75.79 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 67.66 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 40 Mbps-75.79 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 75.79 Mbps

2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  29.67 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 29.67Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Nothing major, but there is a difference between Edge and Firefox, well here anyway.

If I hover over Begin Test using Edge I see this URL in the lower left of the screen

btw test on edge.PNG

If I click Yes and Begin Test (on Edge) and leave the cursor there, the above URL remains there for the test.

 

However, using FF, no URL is visible.

 

Just thought I'd point that out.

 

Edge (left) and FF (right) give the following (tested just now):

Edge v FF.PNG

Upload can't be right, because:

DSL uptime: 2 days, 15:59:45
Data rate: 1434 / 27205
Maximum data rate: 1442 / 27953
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,847
Thanks: 847
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@Gandalf

Not fixed (IE and Chrome reporting stupid upload speeds  >30Mbps on 80/20 FTTP)

Also I've noticed that the IP Profile isn't been returned consistently on the "Further Diagnostics" screen for us FTTP Users who should get a fixed reading as it is just a number Openreach apply to the line. 

I did put a thread onto the FTTP Trial board just about the IP Profile as I thought it may not be linked to this issue  https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-To-The-Premises-trial/IP-Profile-on-FTTP-80-20/m-p/1562931#M1532... but I now have my doubts.

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,004
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

FTTP doesn't need IP Profile. Because all FTTP are fixed speed.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,400
Thanks: 4,489
Fixes: 733
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Thanks for the comments everyone.

Apologies, I didn't get round to looking at this again today.
Bookmarked the thread and will collate the info and relay over to our suppliers next week.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team