cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,425
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

How incredibly strange !
So you have the correct telephone number, a working phone line and broadband but it all appears to be with another provider who isn't billing you (i.e. TalkTalk) !
Have you *ever* had any dealings with TalkTalk ?
AGil83
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-01-2014

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

I did an online thingy to see what service I could get from them when I was looking to switch provider last year, before I chose plusnet, but that's it.
dick:quote
AGil83
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-01-2014

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Also, don't know if this has any bearing but my current line speed in the member centre is showing 21.5 Mb but I've never been able to get more than a speed of 3 Mb from home. Is this showing the sync speed from the engineer's test at the exchange? If it is, would that suggest he was also unable to register a connection from the premises?
Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Hi, the fault's come back to us and is immediately requesting another engineer visit. I suspect therefore it's still jumpered incorrectly at the exchange if you're still showing as being on talktalk, as they've requested another engineer - I'd imagine the config has already been checked if that's the case.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

If you are using the Plusnet supplied TG582 could you do the following please:
In the router interface click disconnect and then connect. Now go to Event Logs under Technicolor Gateway. You should have entries that look like this (but I bet you haven't):
Quote
Jan 31 16:26:42 PPP CHAP Receive success (Internet)

Info Jan 31 16:26:42 PPP CHAP Receive challenge from rhost PTW-AG01 (Internet)

Info Jan 31 16:26:41 PPP CHAP Receive challenge from rhost ERX15.Miltonkeynes2 (Internet)

Info Jan 31 16:26:34 FIREWALL event (1 of 33): modified rules

Info Jan 31 16:26:34 FIREWALL event (1 of 50): created rules

Warning Jan 31 16:26:34 PPP link down (Internet) [81.174.168.15]

What you do have might be informative and might be something you could show to the next engineer.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Madman
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Quote from: Matt
Hi, the fault's come back to us and is immediately requesting another engineer visit. I suspect therefore it's still jumpered incorrectly at the exchange if you're still showing as being on talktalk, as they've requested another engineer - I'd imagine the config has already been checked if that's the case.

Many years ago, I had a customer with similar problems, although it was just a report of login trouble. It took 3 or 4 visits to get to the bottom of it.
His line had the correct phone number, & the correct ADSL port, connected to it.
This was in the days before Openreach, when we contacted BT Wholesale direct. The BTW guy could drop sync on the modem, etc. proving correct port, so the ADSL virtual path was rebuilt, but same problem remained.
He got me to set the login to @(BTW guys name) & then did a search for the port that tried to login with that name.
Low & behold, it was to port of a customer 100 metres down the road. I went to see this customer & he was having login trouble too.
Things were OK at the exchange MDF, but failed at the cab. The problem was perfect crosstalk on the ADSL frequencies but not on Audio frequencies.
Problem cleared by E side change.
It most likely won't help in this case, but it's worth thinking about.
Nick
AGil83
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-01-2014

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Quote from: jelv
If you are using the Plusnet supplied TG582 could you do the following please:
In the router interface click disconnect and then connect. Now go to Event Logs under Technicolor Gateway. You should have entries that look like this (but I bet you haven't):
Quote
Jan 31 16:26:42 PPP CHAP Receive success (Internet)

Info Jan 31 16:26:42 PPP CHAP Receive challenge from rhost PTW-AG01 (Internet)

Info Jan 31 16:26:41 PPP CHAP Receive challenge from rhost ERX15.Miltonkeynes2 (Internet)

Info Jan 31 16:26:34 FIREWALL event (1 of 33): modified rules

Info Jan 31 16:26:34 FIREWALL event (1 of 50): created rules

Warning Jan 31 16:26:34 PPP link down (Internet) [81.174.168.15]

What you do have might be informative and might be something you could show to the next engineer.

Here's my log from disconnect to connect:
Jan 31 17:58:34 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules

Warning Jan 31 17:58:34 PPP link up (Internet) [2.96.84.218]

Info Jan 31 17:58:34 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok

Info Jan 31 17:58:34 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = npe001.bri)

Info Jan 31 17:58:25 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): modified rules

Info Jan 31 17:58:25 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): created rules

Warning Jan 31 17:58:25 PPP link down (Internet) [2.99.227.114]
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Guess what name crops up repeatedly if you Google npe001.bri? Absolute conclusively proves who your line is wired to!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Just thought of something else; which exchange are you on?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
AGil83
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎21-01-2014

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Thanks - that thought ruled out!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
dragon2611
Grafter
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎20-10-2013

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Hope Plusnet can get an engineer out to check/fix the jumpering.
I would have said call Talktalk but if they don't have an account for you then that probably won't get you anywhere as they won't recognise you as a customer
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,425
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Calling TalkTalk when you *are* a customer used to be a rather distressing experience. I dread to think what would happen if you were trying to explain to a foreign call centre operative that you had a jumpering fault at the exchange.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,424
Thanks: 2,458
Fixes: 317
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

Probably would suggest the Returns Department at Marks & Spencer Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 69.0.3 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,425
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Assigned a non-plusnet IP address

This one has been bugging me a bit - did you get sorted in the end ?