Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apparent Throttling of Speed on Plusnet Pro

baker2009
Dabbler

Apparent Throttling of Speed on Plusnet Pro

Hi.
I've been a customer your Plusnet Pro service for nearly 3 years now.
I can't remember a time when I have had a run or more than a month with no speed issues. I have posted countless questions, and never managed to get to the bottom of the problem - so thought the experts here might be able to help me.
Currently on Bourton-on-the-Water exchange (upgraded to BT21CN services in Feb 2012) with a line sync/profile set at about 17000kbps. Sounds great, often works brilliantly, but in realitly....every few days I get a connection that starts stuttering....(I often use it to watch Netflix/Video streaming). Speed tests show a suspicious top speed steady at around 1.0MBps exactly and remain so for some time.  As I write, this just happened, and now (nearly 2:00am) things are back up to 15Mbps (the usual fast speed).  I live very close to the exchange and in a new (less than 3 year old) property with brand new wiring.
Customer services always point out that I am not being 'throttled'/'usage capped' by Plusnet (despite one accidental case a few months back, which they refunded me for) yet I have excellent line latency/ping speeds - between 10 & 40 ms avg, with 1-2ms jitter. All things point to occasional throttling, which if it's not plusnet, would have to be at the BT Exchange? A bit of Google Searching has thrown up several refernces to 'Secret Throttling' by BT, but no help on how to prevent it.
The bottom line for me, with the upmost respect to Plusnet (v good customer service) is that with the advent of multimedia streaming, high quality- line-speed, minimal traffic-managed b/band is essential to me.  I am paying for the Extra (60Gb download limit, with no planned cap on exceeding this either) and the Pro add-on, so why do does my line keep falling over?
Thanks for any help you can provide. Undecided