cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anybody here use a Billion Bipac 7800N ?

andysen
Grafter

Anybody here use a Billion Bipac 7800N ?

I've been using a 7300N for the last 5 months and though the router is able to keep the sync up for up to 4 days at a time, I've found that the TrendChip chipset it uses is unsuitable for long lines. Researching has led me to believe that the 7800N (broadcomm chipset) will fare better.
Is there anybody here with this particular router and what has your experience been with it ?
Is there another router you'd recommend ? Line stats below.

Operational Mode ADSL G.DMT
Upstream 448 kbps
Downstream 3200 kbps
SNR Margin (Upstream) 18.0 db
SNR Margin (Downstream) 12.0 db
Line Attenuation (Upstream) 31.5 db
Line Attenuation (Downstream) 56.5 db

thanks
15 REPLIES 15
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Anybody here use a Billion Bipac 7800N ?

Unless you need the gigabit LAN then the 7700N would be a better bet as it is the same chipset and much cheaper
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Gigabit LAN, IPv6 support and also a WAN port as well as ADSL port seem to future proof the 7800N more than the 7700N.
I have had a 7800N for 19/20 months now  and have found it to be an excellent router, had in excess of 30 days uptime.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
AxeMurderer
Grafter

I bought mine at least as long ago as Dvorak did. I bought it for future-proofing reasons, thinking that the gigabit ports would be handy when I expand the wired side of my network. Some time later I've still not done much with the wired network, but I am now using it with FTTC and IPv6, neither of which I would have anticipated when I bought it.
It is also well-supported by Billion. I'd buy another.
I can't comment on how it performs with any particular line. It does have user-adjustable SNR; I have no opinion on whether meddling with that is wise/useful.
brueton
Grafter