cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any chance of a reset please?

Grafter
Posts: 70
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2014

Any chance of a reset please?

Speeds have been declining over the last few days and I am now at approx 120kbps and my router says

  Upstream Downstream
Current Rate(kbps) 928 1152
Max Rate(kbps) 1080 3464
SNR Margin(dB) 7 18.7
Line Attenuation(dB) 31.5 55
Errors(pkts) 168 3

 

Any chance of a reset please to get some sort of useable speed back?

Thanks in advance.

7 REPLIES 7
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-06-2020

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

Have you got any extension sockets on your socket?

If so then I would remove the faceplate on the master socket, remove any extension sockets and plug your modem and router into the "test" socket if possible.

See what your speed is there.

This eliminates any issues with your internal wiring

Grafter
Posts: 70
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2014

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

No extension leads they were all disconnected last time I had problems.

The latest BT Master socket was also installed by the engineers after they sorted a problem out at a roadside box between me and the exchange and I run directly from that to my router (with the faceplate).

Nothing has changed here apart from the weather recently and as things are not great here at the best of times as you will probably see from my normal "best" connection speed ALL that is needed is a reset at the exchange.

The recent wind and rain is almost certainly the issue.

Currently router shows

  Upstream Downstream
Current Rate(kbps) 928 1152
Max Rate(kbps) 1080 3452
SNR Margin(dB) 7 18.6
Line Attenuation(dB) 31.5 55
Errors(pkts) 177 4
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

@dc8 Just out of interest, do you happen to know your 'normal' downstream SNR? the above looks a little high, to me.

John
Grafter
Posts: 70
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2014

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

About normal for here 😬

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,528
Thanks: 1,885
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

@dc8  OK .😉

John
Grafter
Posts: 70
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2014

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

Is there anyone from plusnet going to do a reset or are you just going to ignore things?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,035
Thanks: 5,771
Fixes: 964
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Any chance of a reset please?

Thanks for getting in touch @dc8 and apologies for the delayed staff response. I'm sorry to see you're experiencing speed problems. I've tested your line today and the tests aren't showing any causes for this so I've removed the 576-1152kbps banding now and upon retesting I can see your router's now getting a speed of 3.4mbps.

If you have further issues with this, I'd recommend raising a speed fault online at faults.plus.net. It's worth noting that together with our network partners at Openreach we are prioritising customers who don’t have a phone line or broadband connection, meaning there might be a delay in speed faults being fixed. 

[edit]

As a heads up a normal downstream SNRM is 6dB. It was 18.6dB because the line was banded. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team