cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice please

urga

Advice please

Hi
I am new to plusnet, as I have just moved house to an area with no fibre and therefore I am on adsl. That problem aside, can anyone tell what I am doing wrong with my connections? I have a pc and xbox in one room with only one rj45 cable. I tried the cable splitters but that did not work so I purchased a Netgear FS108 switch. I plugged both the pc( windows XP) and the xbox into the switch and connected the switch,via the single cable to one of the ports on the modem supplied by Plusnet.This does not seem to work on either the pc or the xbox.  If I connect the pc directly to the cable without the switch I can get it to work. What am I doing wrong?
Any advice/insults will be most welcome.
Regards
Dave
11 REPLIES 11
pwatson
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Advice please

What you're trying to (with the switch) is correct and should work.  Do you have link lights lit on all the ports on the switch that you've used for your cables?
urga

Yes the lights on those ports are on. They do blink a little every now and then ie they are not completely solid.
amcclean
Rising Star

Are you using a modem supplied by pn for fibre or a new one supplied for asdl.
The fibre modems are set up differently to those for adsl.

podman
pwatson
Rising Star

OK lights on, that's good.  Start with with just the PC, switch, router and two ethernet cables.  Plug the PC into the router using cable A and test.  Then use cable B and retest.  Now you have two known working cables, plug cable A from a LAN port on the router to a port on the switch.  Plug cable B from the switch to the PC and retest.
urga