cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL2+

andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

ADSL2+

I was checking out my sister's line on the bt adsl checker and it says:
Quote
Your exchange is ADSL enabled, and our initial test on your line indicates that your line should be able to have an ADSL broadband service that provides a fixed line speed up to 2Mbps.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL Max broadband line speed of 8Mbps; typically the line speed would range between 7Mbps and 8Mbps.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 17Mbps; typically the line speed would range between 10Mbps and 19.5Mbps. Our test also indicates that your line could support an estimated ADSL 2+ Annex-M broadband upstream line speed of 1.5Mbps and downstream line speed of 17Mbps; typically the downstream speed would range between 10Mbps and 19.5Mbps.

When I look in her high speed broadband in the member centre I note she is getting 6.5mb so I'm assuming she is on ADSL max. How does she go about getting ADSL2+ on her line?
12 REPLIES 12
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: ADSL2+

Assuming this says 21CN is available then just raise a ticket on her account but make sure that the router supports ADSL2+
http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+

Looks like she is out of luck then as it says:
BT have advised that no current planned date for WBC on 21CN exists
Oh well fibre is coming in the next few months (unless it slips a bit) if she wants that.
richandsian
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎14-02-2008

Re: ADSL2+

Quote from: Oldjim
Assuming this says 21CN is available then just raise a ticket on her account but make sure that the router supports ADSL2+
http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/

Is this up to date?
For instance, with the Broadway exchange it seems to disagree with the information here:
http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,219
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ADSL2+

Surely, if the BT Wholesale checker says this
Quote
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 17Mbps
then 21CN must already be available.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: ADSL2+

andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+

Mmmm that suggests that 21CN is enabled:
Quote
ADSL status:
Enabled as of 12/11/2003
ADSL Max status:
Enabled as of 31/03/2006
SDSL status:
Not available
21CN WBC status:
Enabled
FTTC status:
Available in some areas
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,032
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: ADSL2+

In which case raise a ticket - they can only say "The computer says no"  Grin
andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+

Too true. Thanks
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2009

Re: ADSL2+

Just a note to say that it is possible in some circumstances to have FTTC at your local cabinets and not have 21CN/ADSL2+ at the local exchange.
FTTC runs over the 21CN network BUT the FTTC supply does not HAVE to come from the same local exchange as the phone/ADSL comes from.
The FTTC supply might come from a nearby larger exchange which is fully FTTC/21CN enabled.
Pettitto
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: ADSL2+

Hi andun84,
I'm glad we managed to get that all sorted. That should all be sorted within 7-10 working days. Let me know if there is anything else I can help with Smiley
andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+

Thanks Chris for picking this up and getting the adsl2+ product put through. It's much appreciated.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,098
Thanks: 300
Fixes: 89
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+

I'll pass your thanks on to Chris, cheers for letting us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team