cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL2+ Hardware

tallcal
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎18-03-2009

ADSL2+ Hardware

Hi I have a BT2700HGV and these are my stats:
DSL Connection Details
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT2 Annex A
Downstream Rate: 3071 kbps
Upstream Rate: 444 kbps
Channel: Interleaved
Current Noise Margin: 8.7 dB (Downstream) 16.1 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 53.2 dB (Downstream) 32.7 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 19.0 dBm (Downstream) 12.4 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xB5} Vendor: {IFTN} Specific: {0xB871}
PVC Info: 0/38
I'm sure protocol is supposed to read G.DMT2+ Annex A but I have a spare vigor2800 at the office which I can try in the next few days.
That is also a strange upstream speed but maybe that is because adsl2+ has a more rate adaptive upstreamHuh
Any suggestions/recommendations?
13 REPLIES 13
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Something is not right there...
Try the other router.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,929
Thanks: 1,271
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Perhaps G.DMT2 means ADSL2 (without the +). Does the router have the option to select ADSL2+? Annex A means service delivery is by a standard telephone line.
With your attenuation you are likely to see only 200kbps improvement in downstream sync speed Sad. The trial is based on uncapped upstream and you should see improvement there, with the upstream noise margin reducing as a consequence. That obviously hasn't happened with the present router.
Trying the Vigor seems the way forward.
David
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,218
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

I think that maybe the 2700 shows G.DMT2 if its synched at < 12000kbps on an ADSL2 line. Its certainly
ADSL2+ capable, i've seen figures on other forums showing synch speeds > 20000kbps.
With your attenuation however you're not going to see those sort of speeds.
What firmware do you have on your 2700 ?
spock
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎09-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

I also have a BT 2700HGV and having just switched over my protocol shows G.DMT2+ Annex A, also getting slower than expected upstream for some reason as max rate is clearly much higher than trained rate.
Standard BT Firmware
Current Software: 5.29.107.12
DSL Modem: 7.2.2
stats as follows for info
Current Rate  4674 kbs    450 kbs
Max Rate:      4674 kbs  1329 kbs
Current Noise Margin:  12.2 dB      20.3 dB
Current Attenuation:      48.2 dB      25.9 dB
Current Output Power:  19.5 dBm    -31.0 dBm
What firmware is OP running?
Spock
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,779
Thanks: 982
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Plusnet duffed the orders for some people which means upload speeds are restricted.
See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,75080.0.html
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,052
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Sorry to hijack  Embarrassed
Running the trial on a Speedtouch 585V6 on 6.2.16.3  I do have however a TG585V7 thats brand new, and never used. Would this be a better router to use on the trial than my older V6?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,218
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Quote
I also have a BT 2700HGV and having just switched over my protocol shows G.DMT2+ Annex A

Well , thats my theory out the window then...
@spock, Did your downstream speed improve when going to ADSL2 ?
I've got a 2700HGV ( 2 actually ) and have been holding off applying for the trial until I have seen how
they perform. Mine are running firmware 5.29.107.12 ( the in use one ) and 5.29.117.6 ( the spare ).
The spare was taken out of service when the the BT upgrade to version 6 was talked about, to prevent
any upgrade until the dust has settled.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,929
Thanks: 1,271
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Quote from: penfold
Running the trial on a Speedtouch 585V6 on 6.2.16.3   I do have however a TG585V7 thats brand new, and never used. Would this be a better router to use on the trial than my older V6?

I believe the ST585v6 fully supports ADSL2+ so I doubt changing to the v7 would make a significant difference.
David
tallcal
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎18-03-2009

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

OK, just plugged the Draytek in...
Stats as follows:
Down Sync - 3067
Up Sync - 440
SNR - 12
Attenuation - 46
tallcal
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎18-03-2009

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Here is a screenshot of router status...it still says ADSL2 and not ADSL2+ also I thought the up sync was supposed to be 448?
I set the modulation to ADSL2+ Auto (G.992.5)
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,052
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

tallcal see here. http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,75080.0.html
Seems some of us were provisioned onto the trial with a capped upload. Mine is also 440.  James will sort it for you.
spock
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎09-08-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Quote from: MisterW
@spock, Did your downstream speed improve when going to ADSL2 ?

yep, gained between 512kbps and 1mbps downstream compared to dslmax.  Eventually I expect to get more cause thats with a target SNR on ADSL2+ of 12db, whereas on dslmax my target was 9db.
There have been a few resyncs since the move over, and much higher error counts.  Don't know if you know about the 2wire management pages, there's a great DSL diagnostics one If you have a look at
http://gateway.2wire.net/xslt?PAGE=J42&THISPAGE=J01&NEXTPAGE=J42
Very useful info including every resync logged, and the bit loading graph.  Check the Mgn1 column, this is the snr immediately after connection, i.e. your target snr.
Unless you've got a really stable router, i'd deffo give the 2700 a go, I've found it to be one of the most reliable at holding connections on a noisy line. Smiley
Spock
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,218
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Hardware

Yes , thanks Spock , I've got a really stable router , its a 2700.  I currently sync at 8128k with 8db SNR on a line with ~30db attenuation for weeks without any resynchs . I was just interested in how well the 2700 is likely to perform on ADSL2+, as I dont want to opt into the trial and get a worse connection...