cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL line profile

shaungjones
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-10-2020

ADSL line profile

My green cabinet is a good 5km from my home.  It is Cab 8 on Llangollen exchange, it is fibre enabled.  Because I am so far away no fibre service is available.  So there are three flavours of ADSL, 992.1, 992.3 & 992.5.  Normally I get the best out of my line if on ADSL2 992.3 service.  For some reason I am on ADSL 992.1 the old 8meg product.  Could a clever moderator investigate if my line profile can be changed to ADSL2 992.3 service please ?

 

Regards,  Shaun.

10 REPLIES 10
shaungjones
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-10-2020

Re: ADSL line profile

Bump.

Tags (1)
TheMightyAJ
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,711
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: ADSL line profile

Hi @shaungjones,

Together with our network partners at Openreach we will try to provide you with the best speeds possible. If you feel this is not the case, please raise your speed fault online at faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Mav
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,777
Thanks: 3,963
Fixes: 438
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: ADSL line profile


@shaungjones wrote:

Could a clever moderator investigate if my line profile can be changed to ADSL2 992.3 service please ?

 @shaungjones Moderators, clever or otherwise, are customers like yourself with no access to accounts or Plusnet Systems.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

shaungjones
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-10-2020

Re: ADSL line profile

@TheMightyAJ Many thanks for taking the trouble to respond.  I have received assistance from yourselves and OpenReach.  My situation is puzzling as my upstream link has dropped from 400kbps to 160kbps and the line is technically error free.  My suspicion is that something has changed at the exchange.  Has ADSL2 (up to 12 meg) been dropped ?  I have a huge stretch to my Green Cab and 992.3 was the most favourable profile.  I believe I have been allocated ADSL (up to 8 meg) which might explain some compromise on upstream speed.  Even the firmware in the exchange could have been tweaked and it has changed the defaults.  The user experience is really affected with only 160kbps upstream.  Just wondering if members of this forum have any thoughts to add on my plight.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,750
Thanks: 628
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: ADSL line profile

It would help if you were to supply a bit more information, you have picked up a few , but to get a better picture:

 

1. Post the results after putting your number in the DSL Checker. Make sure you hide your number,

2. Post your router stats, udeal the help desk tab from the router, which router, but a page with speeds and snr and att.

3. Is your phone line quiet? Dial 17070 option 2.

 

shaungjones
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-10-2020

Re: ADSL line profile

ADSL Checker 171220.jpg

The premise/line is associated with exchange where WLR is not withdrawn.

The premise/line is associated with exchange where SOADSL service is restricted.

FTTP is not available.

For all ADSL and WBC Fibre to the Cabinet (VDSL or G.fast) services, the stable line rate will be determined during the first 10 days of service usage.

Actual speeds experienced by end users and quoted by CPs will be lower due to a number of factors within and external to BT's network, Communication Providers' networks and within customer premises.

The Stop Sale date for IPstream is from 31 Oct 2013. The Formal Retirement date for IPstream is from 30 Jun 2014.

 

In order to be eligible for handback, downstream speed should be less than Downstream Handback Threshold values.

Thank you for your interest

shaungjones
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-10-2020

Re: ADSL line profile

System Up Time 143:12:39
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 19039500 25924215 0 2126 792 143:11:54
LAN 10M/100M 3764312 4769110 0 3681 186 143:12:34
WLAN 11M/54M 5032373 3824845 0 6506 16533 24:07:08

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 1920 kbps 192 kbps
Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
Noise Margin 6.4 db 10.0 db
shaungjones
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-10-2020

Re: ADSL line profile

@Mustrum thanks for your interest.

I am using a Netgear DG834GT router.  The phone line is quiet.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,750
Thanks: 628
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: ADSL line profile

Ah, I see your dilema. I fear if you were to report a fault, most CS would just say well you are getting good download speeds and no fault is showing.

Does your router have the ability to choose the ADSL type, or is it automatic?

With luck a friendly PN CS will spot your thread and have a peek for you.

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,655
Thanks: 7,015
Fixes: 1,171
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: ADSL line profile

Thanks for getting back to us @shaungjones 

From what I can see your service is provisioned on ADSL1 over BT's 21CN network. Due to how far you are away from the exchange, you likely won't benefit from ADSL2+ because that uses higher frequencies which can make a broadband connection on long lines worse. 

As your upload speed's very slow and not capped by any profile, I'd recommend raising a speed fault at http://faults.plus.net so we can arrange an engineer visit to investigate further, assuming you've carried out the usual checks Here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team