cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL Broadband - Issues with speed

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-04-2020

ADSL Broadband - Issues with speed

Hello All,

 

I was recently given a hub one router by Plusnet because my previous router (2704n stopped working). I have noticed since the change that the speed of our internet is slower. Sometimes when we use the internet through the tv it freezes a lot now, and if we download an application onto the iPad it takes a long time for it to download. This never used to be a problem with our old router. I have spoken to a Plusnet technical person who tested the line and did something to try and make it faster but it has made no difference. Can anyone give me any help or suggestions as to what I can do now? Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

 

Kind Regards

 

Greg

 

 

Moderators Note: All caps title removed as per Forum rules

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,920
Thanks: 2,125
Fixes: 141
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: ADSL BROADBAND - ISSUES WITH SPEED

@GJF 

Assuming that this is a wireless problem try splitting the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands, see https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/2-4ghz-and-or-5ghz-best-practice/m-p/1351966#M840

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 23,921
Thanks: 4,191
Fixes: 1,071
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: ADSL Broadband - Issues with speed

Or use instructions below:

Navigate in a web browser to 192.168.1.254.

Click Advanced Settings

Enter your Hub admin password when prompted (unless you've changed it, you'll find the default password on the settings card)
Continue to Advanced Settings.
Click on Wireless.
Click 5GHz tab.
Change 'Sync with 2.4Ghz' to No.
Change the name of the 'Wireless SSID' - I added a '_5' on the end.
Save the changes.



You can then select which one you want per device.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-04-2020

Re: ADSL Broadband - Issues with speed

Good afternoon,

Thanks for your help. I have alright done that and it made no difference. Any other ideas? Thanks.

Kind Regards

Greg
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 15,100
Thanks: 431
Fixes: 123
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: ADSL Broadband - Issues with speed

Together with our network partners at Openreach we are prioritising customers who don’t have a phone line or broadband connection, meaning there might be a delay in Speed Faults being fixed. In the meantime, please raise your speed fault online at faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team