cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

*21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi Graham,
I've upped that to 18700 on our side for you. You should see that in the next 15 mins or so.
Jojo Smiley
GrahamC
Grafter
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎19-07-2009

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Thanks JoJo
Looks like the reset caused the connection to hop over to another gateway - pcl-ag06 and is giving some wierd speedtest results at the mo. I'll try and hop onto another see if it will settle.
cheers
Graham
grudkin
Grafter
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎30-03-2009

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

I have had a sync rate of 18112kbps resulting in a BT IP profile of 15.98 Mbps for over 4 days now but the plusnet profile still reports a Current line speed of 15.6 Mb.
Am I the only one that thinks that after over 6 months, Plusnet really should have solved the problem of the plusnet profile not updating properly on ADSL2+ by now!  Roll eyes
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi there,
The BT profile is showing as being updated two days ago on the 26th, so ours should have updated at some point today for you - sorry that it didn't update earlier. I've set it to 16000 on our side so you should get that extra 300kbit now, hope that helps.
grudkin
Grafter
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎30-03-2009

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Thanks Matt!
However I don't understand why the BT profile is only showing as updated on the 26th when the BT speedtester was reporting a profile of 15.98 Mbps since the 22nd with no drops until my router decided to reboot itself last night for no reason resulting in a slightly lower IP Profile of 15.82 Mbps after!  Crazy
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

We get the reports from WCR which is another part of BTs systems, however this is also the system that gives us the updates on customer speed profiles and might account for at least some of the delay.
zuchov1
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎18-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi,
My line was upgraded on Monday afternoon. Here are the router stats:
Uptime:  0 days, 1:04:42
DSL Type:  G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:  888 / 23,444
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:  440 / 21,522
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]:  6.20 / 35.38
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:  10.5 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:  3.5 / 5.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:  30.0 / 9.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote):  TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):  0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):  0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):  0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):  0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):  0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down):  0 / 3,891
CRC Errors (Up/Down):  0 / 3
HEC Errors (Up/Down):  0 / 127
But my download speed has not changed. Here is my Plusnet profile:
Estimated line speed:
8Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2012-05-28 17:52:58
Current line speed:
6.5 Mb
Any solutions?
Thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

You need to run the BT speedtest and confirm what it says for your IP Profile. You can then ring PN (or post on here) to ask for your current line speed to be set to match.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
zuchov1
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎18-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Completed speed test:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 5.64 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 18.99 Mbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

That confirms it's just the PN current line speed that is holding you back - hopefully one of the Digital care Team will see this soon and do what is needed.
BTW: Do you live in a flat above the exchange? I don't think I've ever seen an attenuation as low as yours (it goes up the further you are from the exchange). I'd expected to see very few FEC errors which would mean that interleaving off would be safe and you'd get an even faster sync.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
zuchov1
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎18-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi,
I live approx. 0.2 miles from the exchange. The above results were taken not long after I turned the router on/off.
Here are some more stats after 17+ hours.
Uptime: 0 days, 17:37:57
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 23,468
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 21,522
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 489.06 / 2.68
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 10.5 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 3.5 / 5.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.0 / 9.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 36,032 / 49,504
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1,281 / 43
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,818,558,464 / 675
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

That's a lot of errors! Have you got multiple telephone sockets? If so I'd like to see if it's still clocks errors when it's in the test socket inside the master socket which isolates all the internal wiring and the other sockets.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi zuchov1,
I have raised your profile to 18900 to allow for your new BT IP profile. This should take effect shortly.
Jojo Smiley
Highlighted
zuchov1
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎18-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Download speed has increased to:
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Nice Smiley