cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intermittent Fault

sheffers241

Intermittent Fault

Hi, this is my first post and I'm not a technical expert but I'd really appreciate any 'laymans terms' advice on how to move forward.
My broadband has an intermittent problem.  It will be fine for several days or a couple of weeks then it will cut out and I won't be able to log in at all.  I *think* that the problem occurs after wet and windy weather, which makes me wonder if there's a line fault.
I've attached the call log that the plusnet online chat person showed me this morning.  I was away on holiday from 20-26 August.
I raised this problem a few weeks ago and was told after 3 days that 'we've monitored the connection and it is now stable'. I've just now been told that I have to wait 72 hours for this problem to be investigated again.
Does anyone know of how I could move this forward more quickly? I'm a residential customer but I work from home so I'm thinking of changing to a business package (I think the fault response time is quicker, though I haven't been able to find confirmation of this on plusnet's website).  Alternatively, are there other providers anyone would recommend.  I understand that Zen get good reviews, but I'm not sure that they would take me on with an existing connection fault.
Thank you.
9 REPLIES 9
cedlor
Grafter

Re: Intermittent Fault

Welcome to the forum.
I dont know about pushing it on more quickly.
If you have not done already read the top 2 "stickies"  at the top of this forum. Carry out as many tests as you can.
and report back with the stats from your router. Leave the router running all the time and leave any tests requiring
a restart. It will help if you read through and you will find you can do several things where a switch off is neede
so if you can do them all at once it is better.  For example if you are not plugged into the test plug then moving to that will