Monday 21st April 2014Login | Register
Pages: [1]

Is there a time delay.

  • zanyjudy
  • Guest
« on 29/07/2007, 18:56 »
I have a new .co.uk website to which I think I have uploaded some files, both Cyberduck and Transit show the files being there, but when I use my browser to access the website I get transferred to webspace.plus.net which says a web page has not been uploaded. Is this due to a time delay or am I missing something more serious?
Logged
« Reply #1 on 30/07/2007, 07:39 »
Edit: My problem with the ccgi pages was purely human error, ack.
Logged
  • Chris
  • Plusnet Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 9146
  • View Profile
« Reply #2 on 30/07/2007, 09:41 »
@zanyjudy

Have you made sure your site has an index.htm or index.html file? It sounds as though the index.htm file we upload as default is still there, try removing this and replacing it with your own homepage and you should be able to see your site.
Chris Parr
Plusnet Digital Care Lead
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • zanyjudy
  • Guest
« Reply #3 on 30/07/2007, 14:43 »
It would appear that I am loading stuff into my www.username.plus.com webpage and not my co.uk webpage. Both Cyberduck and Transmit take my username as the name of the webpage. How do I load files into the co.uk webpage?
Logged
  • Chris
  • Plusnet Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 9146
  • View Profile
« Reply #4 on 30/07/2007, 14:49 »
Your domain will point to the same place as www.username.plus.com unless you have specified this to go to a folder. Checking your account you haven't so domain.co.uk and www.username.plus.com will be showing the same files.

Have you uploaded the files into the htdocs directory? There doesn't seem to be anything on there.
Chris Parr
Plusnet Digital Care Lead
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • zanyjudy
  • Guest
« Reply #5 on 30/07/2007, 14:53 »
I removed all the files but when I try to reload I get a message "Could not upload item. Server said: index.htm: Permission denied."
!!!
Logged
  • Chris
  • Plusnet Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 9146
  • View Profile
« Reply #6 on 30/07/2007, 14:57 »
Make sure you are uploading the files in to the htdocs folder, you can't upload outside this.
Chris Parr
Plusnet Digital Care Lead
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • zanyjudy
  • Guest
« Reply #7 on 30/07/2007, 16:39 »
I have uploaded some files and they are there on the www.username.plus.com page but my co.uk page still says there is nothing uploaded. I am obviously misunderstanding something here. I read what you said to mean that my co.uk page would show what is uplosded to the other page.
Logged
  • Chris
  • Plusnet Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 9146
  • View Profile
« Reply #8 on 30/07/2007, 17:14 »
I've just looked at the domain on your account, this is showing exactly the same page as www.username.plus.com

Try holding down the CTRL key and press F5 at the same time when trying to view your .co.uk site
Chris Parr
Plusnet Digital Care Lead
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • zanyjudy
  • Guest
« Reply #9 on 30/07/2007, 17:36 »
This is what I get -

Safari can’t find the file.
No file exists at the address “/www.belfryhouse.co.uk”.

??
Logged
  • Chris
  • Plusnet Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 9146
  • View Profile
« Reply #10 on 30/07/2007, 17:37 »
Visiting http://www.belfryhouse.co.uk I get a page with this text at the top...

Belfry House
Parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.
Chris Parr
Plusnet Digital Care Lead
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • Chris
  • Plusnet Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 9146
  • View Profile
« Reply #11 on 30/07/2007, 17:41 »
It may be cached on your PC, so try clearing out your browser cache.
Chris Parr
Plusnet Digital Care Lead
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • zanyjudy
  • Guest
« Reply #12 on 30/07/2007, 17:54 »
At last! It took two attempts to clear the cache but eventually it made it. Now all I have to do is work out why a blue square with a question mark has appeared where it shouldn't, then I can start to make progress.
many thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Jump to:  

Related Sites

Community Apps

Here at Plusnet we're always trying to use clever open source things to make our lives easier. Sometimes we write our own and make other people's lives easier too!

View the Plusnet Open Source applications page

About Plusnet

We're a Yorkshire-based provider selling broadband and phone services to homes and businesses throughout the UK. Winner of the ISPA 2010 'Best Consumer Customer Service ISP' Award, we're proud to offer the UK's best value standalone broadband.

© Plusnet plc All Rights Reserved. E&OE

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC

Add to Technorati Favourites