Wednesday 22nd October 2014Login | Register
Pages: [1] 2

Netgear DG834v4 - cannot connect to internet

« on 14/03/2013, 19:23 »
Bought a Netgear DG834v4 as a replacement or backup for my Thompson 585v7, but have so far been unable to connect to Internet.

I'm able to login to the router, but after running the Setup Wizard or manual setup, it fails to connect. A test connection does not connect to the Netgear website. I tried several times.

Connection status:
LCP down
CHAP authentication failure

I'm using the correct username and password.

Can anyone help with this?



Logged
« Reply #1 on 14/03/2013, 19:27 »
Logged
« Reply #2 on 14/03/2013, 19:57 »
Yes.
I've just logged into my Plusnet account to make sure I used the correct username and password.

Just found something similar here:
http://www.avforums.com/f...light-netgear-dg834g.html

except the problem related to a DG834Gv4 and their DG384 was OK!!!
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim):  Full quote of preceding post removed as per the Forum Rule]

« Last Edit: 14/03/2013, 22:52 by Oldjim »

Logged
« Reply #3 on 14/03/2013, 22:15 »
Still cannot get the Netgear router to connect.

Raised a ticket reference number [ 67070408 ] .
Logged
« Reply #4 on 14/03/2013, 22:37 »
Oldjim is a bit of an expert on the v4, I'll point him your way.
Logged
  • Oldjim
  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 28901
  • View Profile
« Reply #5 on 14/03/2013, 22:51 »
It has always worked first time for me
A suggestion - try this link first http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug It shouldn't help as it is  telnet related command but you never know
One other thing - I assume it is a second hand unit so it may be locked to previous ISP
First thing to try is a hard reset
Second - what firmware is it running
The latest is 5.01.09 which can be downloaded from http://kb.netgear.com/app...-firmware-version-5.01.09
Jim

Old Harry Rocks
Logged
« Reply #6 on 15/03/2013, 01:50 »
Eh? I thought the latest firmware was .16 rather than .09
A mistake there Jim or is that firmware best in your opinion? Roll Eyes
Logged
« Reply #7 on 15/03/2013, 05:50 »
I think you will find .16 is North America only there RPM.
Logged
« Reply #8 on 15/03/2013, 06:44 »
Version .16 is available for outside North America and Germany  Smiley

http://kb.netgear.com/app...ers-outside-north-america

I have the above version on a couple of theses routers.

Regards
Mike
Great Technology Podcasts - www.twit.tv
Logged
« Reply #9 on 15/03/2013, 07:46 »
Many Plusnet users, myself included, use Netgear routers very successfully.  So if you have one that doesn't connect either:
 
  • It is faulty
  • The settings are wrong.
  • You have the credentials (user name and password) wrong

You have checked the credentials and been told how to reset the settings (including updating the firmware in case the router was locked to another ISP).  So if that does not work it's just plain faulty. 

 
Logged
« Reply #10 on 15/03/2013, 09:15 »
Well done Mike, it certainly wasn't obvious when I Iooked on Netgear's site - unless I should have gone to specsavers  Embarrassed
Logged
  • Oldjim
  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 28901
  • View Profile
« Reply #11 on 15/03/2013, 10:20 »
It wasn't obvious to me either - although I did use Google to find it
Jim

Old Harry Rocks
Logged
« Reply #12 on 15/03/2013, 13:50 »
Thanks for all your replies.

Problem solved. I was using the wrong login. Reading the Plusnet Broadband Settings page again I realized my error.

http://www.plus.net/suppo...connection-settings.shtml

I was using login:
my_username

I should have been using login:
my_username@plusdsl.net

I misread the Plusnet Broadband Settings page, and the router guide may have confused me:
Quote
Login
This is usually the name that you use in your e-mail address. For example, if your main mail account is JerAB@ISP.com, then put JerAB in this box.
Some ISPs (like Mindspring, Earthlink, and T-DSL) require that you use your full e-mail address when you log in. If your ISP requires your full e-mail address, then type it in the Login box.

BTW.
The unit is new. The box was sealed with plastic.
Firmware version is  V5.01.16

Two questions:

1. Should I leave the router on all the time ? (I use to switch off the Thomson router after browsing Internet or shutting down my computer).

2. The Netgear router runs hot (maybe not as hot as the Thomson router). Is that normal?






Logged
  • jelv
  • Bright Spark
  • *
  • Posts: 21928
  • View Profile
« Reply #14 on 15/03/2013, 14:26 »
That illustrates the confusion:
Quote

That is not the correct login username for broadband. That username is my account username i.e. my_username

The correct login username for broadband is as AndyH linked to here:

http://www.plus.net/suppo...connection-settings.shtml

The correct login username for broadband is:
my_username@plusdsl.net

« Last Edit: 15/03/2013, 14:29 by ogawd »

Logged
« Reply #15 on 15/03/2013, 14:33 »
1. Should I leave the router on all the time ? (I use to switch off the Thomson router after browsing Internet or shutting down my computer).

2. The Netgear router runs hot (maybe not as hot as the Thomson router). Is that normal?

1) As far as leaving it on goes, the usual recommendation is yes, but it depends on your stats as to what you can get away with.
Post up some daytime stats for starters, and then some tonight.

2) May sure it's well ventilated.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
Jump to:  

Related Sites

Community Apps

Here at Plusnet we're always trying to use clever open source things to make our lives easier. Sometimes we write our own and make other people's lives easier too!

View the Plusnet Open Source applications page

About Plusnet

We're a Yorkshire-based provider selling broadband and phone services to homes and businesses throughout the UK. Winner of the ISPA 2010 'Best Consumer Customer Service ISP' Award, we're proud to offer the UK's best value standalone broadband.

© Plusnet plc All Rights Reserved. E&OE

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC

Add to Technorati Favourites