Thursday 28th August 2014Login | Register
Pages: [1] 2

Very strange oscillating Speedtest readings

  • PlusComUK
  • Posts: 3437
  • Google is your friend
  • View Profile
« on 22/02/2012, 00:59 »
My usual "straight" speedtest measurement this morning 01:00 am is instead oscillating between a couple of readings, approx one per second.

Just look at the green speed readings graph, just below 8.99, a series of peaks and troughs, which is usually a straightish line.

And my speed has dropped from a usual 16.6mb/s to a lower 9.25mb/s

Same result when repeated several times

The needle can be seen very visibly moving up and down.

Almost as if some sort of data chopping compression is in effect.



10 minutes later, back to normal, nice straight line.




Then after a few "normal" results, back to oscillating !!





Throughout, the Upload speed appeared to be non-oscillating.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Back to normal this morning.



And on conclusion of test, the download speed is again a number, not the peaks and troughs graph with no number.




Oh no it's not 3 hours later, I promise you, nothing else is downloading at the same time...



« Last Edit: 22/02/2012, 09:41 by PlusComUK »

An Apple a Day ..................            OSX 10.10 Yosemite  
Logged
« Reply #1 on 22/02/2012, 09:38 »
HI PlusComUK,

That is strange. Wonder if anyone else has ever seen that before.

Jojo Smiley
Joanne Pilson
Plusnet Billing Operations Analyst
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
« Reply #2 on 22/02/2012, 09:41 »
Re the result being a number not a graph, that is probably because you moved the cursor/carat away from that position on the screen. Move it back and the graph replaces the number Smiley.
Logged
  • PlusComUK
  • Posts: 3437
  • Google is your friend
  • View Profile
« Reply #3 on 22/02/2012, 09:44 »
Nope sorry, tried that, graph remains, no number ever having appeared, on completion of test, as per normal.



I can't show you it with the cursor, screen grab doesn't show cursor, but it is there !

Tried a different tack, I recorded a screen movie, then grabbed a frame from that, which shows the cursor.




However, as you state, when the numbers appear upon completion, the cursor moving does show a graph, or numbers !!

« Last Edit: 22/02/2012, 10:00 by PlusComUK »

An Apple a Day ..................            OSX 10.10 Yosemite  
Logged
  • w23
  • Posts: 4230
  • I'm definitely NOT normal, and never have been.
  • View Profile
« Reply #4 on 22/02/2012, 09:57 »
I've had a similar effect (though not so pronounced) when the PlusNet line profile ('Current Line Speed') was throttling things a bit, I'd guess it could have something to do with line profile or traffic mangenment systems as these seem to 'bounce the speed down' every time it hits whatever limit is in place.
Call me 'w23' Wink
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Logged
  • PlusComUK
  • Posts: 3437
  • Google is your friend
  • View Profile
« Reply #5 on 22/02/2012, 10:06 »
Personally I am nowhere near any download limit, and my speed is usually around 16.6mb/s, but it sometimes goes up to 19.98mb/s, on an upto 20mb/s service.
An Apple a Day ..................            OSX 10.10 Yosemite  
Logged
  • WWWombat
  • Bright Spark
  • *
  • Posts: 1141
  • Always on...
  • View Profile
« Reply #6 on 22/02/2012, 11:26 »
I saw exactly this case of oscillating last night - also to the Leeds server, which was chosen as the "recommended" server due to a low ping value of 15ms. When it oscillated, it also gave an overall speed reading lower than normal: 32Mb rather than 37.5Mb

The other servers I choose manually (London or Newbury) worked just fine - so I put it down to something funny with the Leeds server.

BTW - I could have sworn I answered this post last night!
Current Plusnet FTTC customer, on the "Fibre Unlimited" package without the Pro add-on.
Online since 1985; with DSL since 2000, with fibre since 2011.
Logged
« Reply #7 on 22/02/2012, 11:30 »
BTW - I could have sworn I answered this post last night!

You're obviously dreaming about these forums now, but don't worry, I do it all the time! Smiley
Joanne Pilson
Plusnet Billing Operations Analyst
Service Status :: RSS :: Email
Twitter :: Facebook :: Plusnet Assist
Logged
  • PlusComUK
  • Posts: 3437
  • Google is your friend
  • View Profile
« Reply #8 on 22/02/2012, 13:01 »
I saw exactly this case of oscillating last night - also to the Leeds server, which was chosen as the "recommended" server due to a low ping value of 15ms. When it oscillated, it also gave an overall speed reading lower than normal: 32Mb rather than 37.5Mb

The other servers I choose manually (London or Newbury) worked just fine - so I put it down to something funny with the Leeds server.

Thanks for pointing that out, if it happens again I'll choose another server.
An Apple a Day ..................            OSX 10.10 Yosemite  
Logged
  • PlusComUK
  • Posts: 3437
  • Google is your friend
  • View Profile
« Reply #9 on 22/02/2012, 13:09 »
It's LEEDS !!!



Birmingham is fine.



Well spotted WWWombat, it didn't seem to affect my PN BB, presumably it is routed differently to Speedtest.


These two tests done approx 1pm today, Wednesday

Jo, will you be reporting it as a fault ?

« Last Edit: 22/02/2012, 13:11 by PlusComUK »

An Apple a Day ..................            OSX 10.10 Yosemite  
Logged
« Reply #10 on 22/02/2012, 13:30 »
So there I was catching up with some iPlayer this morning, and while the audio was fine, the picture was freezing sometimes as often as every 5 seconds or less. So I did the usual tidy up and defrag, tried again, still the same problem.

Guess what?

Speedtest takes me to Leeds based on ping, and I'm getting identical results to the OP.
Logged
« Reply #11 on 22/02/2012, 13:44 »
I am getting the same on mybroadbandspeed tester. Wild swings going on with nothing being downloaded but the test. I am on gateway pcl-ag04.This is located in City Lifeline House. Been happening since yesterday. Loads of buffering on sky or cutting out.  At times cannot get to sites like BBC then can.
Logged
  • PlusComUK
  • Posts: 3437
  • Google is your friend
  • View Profile
« Reply #12 on 22/02/2012, 13:56 »
So there I was catching up with some iPlayer this morning, and while the audio was fine, the picture was freezing sometimes as often as every 5 seconds or less. So I did the usual tidy up and defrag, tried again, still the same problem.

Guess what?

Speedtest takes me to Leeds based on ping, and I'm getting identical results to the OP.

Whilst all the oscillating was going on for me, I did a BBC iPlayer speedtest, no problems.

Results pretty much as always.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/diagnostics#results

Presumably a different route.

Results were similar to these, just done now.


« Last Edit: 22/02/2012, 14:02 by PlusComUK »

An Apple a Day ..................            OSX 10.10 Yosemite  
Logged
  • WWWombat
  • Bright Spark
  • *
  • Posts: 1141
  • Always on...
  • View Profile
« Reply #13 on 22/02/2012, 14:13 »
@PluscomUK - Mere luck.... Because PN's pipes terminate in London, I assume the fastest testers are in the south-East too - so usually force one of those testers. However, I also occasionally hit the "recommended" button to see what server it chooses, and compare the results. Last night, it happened to pick Leeds (with some very good ping values) - and it still picks it (only 13ms pings), but it still oscillates.

Apropos of nothing, I notice that there is a new IP-peering exchange based in Leeds: http://ixleeds.net/. I wonder if this has anything to do with it.

@brokenthumb - I'm not sure the two things are linked either. My iPlayer test results were 30/10/20/20, average 17. More importantly, they didn't seem to oscillate either.
Current Plusnet FTTC customer, on the "Fibre Unlimited" package without the Pro add-on.
Online since 1985; with DSL since 2000, with fibre since 2011.
Logged
« Reply #14 on 22/02/2012, 14:13 »
Hi All,
Just thought I'd add my pennor'th.
I'm on City Lifeline pcl-ag03 and am also getting wide swings of speed. Also getting messages form Microsoft Essentials saying unable to update antivirus etc due to "internet connection issues."
Looks as though somthings adrift !!
Perhaps someone could check to see  if the plug is in properly !!!
Logged
« Reply #15 on 22/02/2012, 15:59 »
It's LEEDS !!!

I'm pretty sure its a problem with the testing server in leeds.

Even on a non PN connection, the following result comes from the leeds test.



* leedspeedtest.png (301.51 KB, 740x386 - viewed 62 times.)
Keith Whelpton
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
Jump to:  

Related Sites

Community Apps

Here at Plusnet we're always trying to use clever open source things to make our lives easier. Sometimes we write our own and make other people's lives easier too!

View the Plusnet Open Source applications page

About Plusnet

We're a Yorkshire-based provider selling broadband and phone services to homes and businesses throughout the UK. Winner of the ISPA 2010 'Best Consumer Customer Service ISP' Award, we're proud to offer the UK's best value standalone broadband.

© Plusnet plc All Rights Reserved. E&OE

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC

Add to Technorati Favourites