cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is Google Chrome eating way more bandwidth?

max99
Grafter

Is Google Chrome eating way more bandwidth?

I've been a plusnet Pro customer for a while now and never have problems staying within my 20G limit each month.  Until recently i've surfed with Safari for general internet, watched a bit of iplayer and gamed on the 360.  On average I hit 13-13G per month.
Over the past few weeks, however, ive noticed my bandwidth usage soaring even though my internet habits have not changed.  Assuming this has nothing to do with Plusnet the only explanation I have is Google chrome which I installed last month.
Granted, it's a much faster browser but is it somehow using more bandwidth to accomplish its speed?
17 REPLIES 17
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

Re: Is Google Chrome eating way more bandwidth?

A talkative computer virus might eat into your bandwidth.
jojopillo
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Hi ReedRichards,
There is a bandwidth monitor available here:  http://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/3768-thinkbroadband-launches-bandwidth-meter.html
It may help you identify when it's happening and what programs seem to be taking it up by the process of elimination.
Jojo Smiley
max99
Grafter

it's definately google chrome....i did some analysis and after 1 hour surfing it cached over 100MB of data!!  on safari or firefox i average about 30MB per hour.
be wary of this browser folks, especially if you're on capped bandwidth.  i've switched back to safari meanwhile.
Azagoth
Grafter

I use both Chrome and Firefox and, bandwidth wise, there's no difference at all between the two.  I'd have to say that there's something else at play on your PC if you're noticing a drastic increase in your used bandwidth.
clairesdog
Grafter