I find it rather hard to account for the sudden apparent total loss of interest in this thread by Bob Pullen, OldJim and the many other previous regular participants as some spam emails that clearly could be easily edge filtered by Postini is still reaching us. The number of spam emails not now being edge filtered or classed as Spam1 is small but they do still exist. Spam 2 to Spam 5 is little use as a classification by Plusnet as it also contains quite a few legitimate emails.
My biggest concern is about the Google search links which almost no one sending legitimate email ever includes in an email (they instead provide the URL of the actual website they are referring to). So isn't it possible to either edge filter all emails containing a Google search link in the body or at the very least to classify them as Spam1?
Below is the latest example of such an email. However I have seen web search engines other than Google used in this way lately ,presumably because at least some Spam blocking programs are now blocking emails containing Google links. However Plusnet merrily continues to allow the Google search link emails to arrive in my Inbox, despite having Spam filtering to my IMAP spam folder enabled.
-------- Original Message --------
From: - Sat Mar 15 08:59:21 2008
X-Account-Key: account4
X-UIDL: UID13977-1149066516
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
X-Mozilla-Keys:
Envelope-to:
xx@xxxx.plus.comDelivery-date: Sat, 15 Mar 2008 07:04:37 +0000
Received: from exprod5mx247.postini.com ([64.18.0.167] helo=psmtp.com) by pih-sunmxcore14.plus.net with smtp (PlusNet MXCore v2.00) id 1JaQRY-0005SZ-Br for xx@xxxx.plus.com; Sat, 15 Mar 2008 07:04:37 +0000
Received: from source ([121.63.251.246]) by exprod5mx247.postini.com ([64.18.4.14]) with SMTP; Fri, 14 Mar 2008 23:04:30 PST
Received: from [192.168.1.1] ([]) by parch.com (Sendmail 8.7.1) with ESMTP (SSL) id IYT24475 for <
xx@xxxx.plus.com>; Sat, 15 Mar 2008 15:03:26 -0500
Date: Sat, 15 Mar 2008 15:03:26 -0500
Message-id: <
MAILSENDERNG3GKeD271410c0e6@64.18.4.14>
X-Mailer: ColdFusion MX Application Server
X-PGP-Key: PAHvkuLT0TkQCqLOKqdZ8nxOD91P1a6==
Organization: wasRND_WORD
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
To:
xx@xxxx.plus.comFrom: Rickie Overton <
Barlowj69@openworld.co.uk>
Subject: A Larger Male Organ
X-pstn-neptune: 59/21/0.36/49
X-pstn-levels: (S: 0.60755/99.78231 CV:99.9000 R:95.9108 P:95.9108 M:97.0282 C:98.6951 )
X-pstn-settings: 1 (0.1500:0.1500) cv gt3 gt2 gt1 r p m c
X-pstn-addresses: from <
Barlowj69@openworld.co.uk> [52/4]
X-pstn-xfilter: y
X-pn-pstn: Spam 3
X-PN-Spam-Filtered: by PlusNet MXCore (v4.00)
X-Antivirus: avast! (VPS 080314-0, 14/03/2008), Inbound message
X-Antivirus-Status: Clean
http://google.co.uk/pagea...adurl=http://jopies.com?8