cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi All, the answer is Linux, now what was the question?

Martin2013

Hi All, the answer is Linux, now what was the question?

Hi All
Very old PlusNET "newbie" here. (though I did briefly have an ic24.net dial-up if that counts)? I may have forgotten more about *nix and *nux than many of you. I cut my first teeth Kernigan and Ritchie "C" on a well-known Ft Worth, TX retailers Model 6000 dual-processor Z-80/68000 beast running TRS-XENIX (google it, Micro$oft once upon a long time ago sold a *nix OS!). I'm self taught from the dozen or so 2" thick, handsomely leatherette bound laser printouts of the man documentation that came with the 8" floppy disk media.
I'm not sure whether I'll be learning or teaching, helping or being helped, here, but I have worked with/at/for many boards, forums etc.
I just ask that you give me a little slack, (not too much to hang meself with!) and if my wacky sense of humo(u)r goes too far, well either mv it to /dev/null or let me know.
BTW, some say I look like Richard Stallman - if he were a little younger, then I could say that HE looks like ME Wink
6 REPLIES 6
picbits
Rising Star

Re: Hi All, the answer is Linux, now what was the question?

Welcome to the forums Martin - we're an argumentative (at times) but friendly bunch on here. Don't quote any preceeding posts in full and you'll get along fine with the Moderators Wink
I'm a Linux man myself but considering applying for a job at a local school who are Windows Server based. It will be a bit of a shock to the system !